Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2007, 09:12 AM
bbob bbob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: nashville, tn USA
Posts: 212
Default 8 Core Users??

Hello folks,
I'm in upgrade research mode.
Anybody using an 8 core Mac? Any issues? I know Digi approved it.... but I'm looking for real world, using it everyday and loving it... or hating it type feedback.
I've been beating the bushes around town and none of my buds have gone there yet. Lots of folks using G5's... and waiting for new cards.
Any input on the 8 core, as always, would be much appreciated.
BT
__________________
HD2 Accel
PT 7.4
OS 10.5.4
MacPro 8 core
www.btruitt.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2007, 09:44 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,382
Default Re: 8 Core Users??

Using it everyday and loving it. It's a huge step up from my previous G4. It's very fast, almost new Pro Tools experience.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2007, 06:50 PM
bbob bbob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: nashville, tn USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: 8 Core Users??

Thanks Jitter,
I'm glad to hear that at least one person on the DUC is using an 8 core. It seems crazy.... but I'm having a hard time finding anyone in Nashville that's got one. I guess if break down and finally upgrade the 8 core would be the way to go.
Anybody else using the 8 core??
BT
__________________
HD2 Accel
PT 7.4
OS 10.5.4
MacPro 8 core
www.btruitt.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2007, 07:08 PM
98wildcat 98wildcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 47
Default Re: 8 Core Users??

Hello,
We just opened a new room in Phoenix using an 8 core intel chip, it is glorious.
No problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2007, 02:00 AM
Bo Walker Bo Walker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Amersham, UK
Posts: 171
Default Re: 8 Core Users??

8 Core / HD3 Accel. Been running smoothly for a few weeks now. Love it.

Usual advice - make sure you put in tons of Ram and follow Digi's set-up advice. Cool stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2007, 06:37 AM
bbob bbob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: nashville, tn USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: 8 Core Users??

Hello,
How much RAM did you guys install in your 8 core machines?
Thanks.
BT
__________________
HD2 Accel
PT 7.4
OS 10.5.4
MacPro 8 core
www.btruitt.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-14-2007, 07:18 AM
Magnetic Magnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Columbus Ohio USA
Posts: 221
Default Re: 8 Core Users??

Two HD systems working fine here with 8-cores. We started with 5-gig ram in each. So far, it's plenty.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:21 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,382
Default Re: 8 Core Users??

I removed the original two 512 MB chips and installed four 1 GB chips. I read from somewhere that Mac Pro works best when all the memory chips are the same size (and in pairs of course). True or not, my machine have performed great with 4 GB of memory, so I haven't installed that fifth GB back yet.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2007, 12:07 PM
Bo Walker Bo Walker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Amersham, UK
Posts: 171
Default Re: 8 Core Users??

Same as Jitter - took the 2 x 512MB chips out and put in 4 x 1GB chips. Seems enough for my needs.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2007, 06:52 PM
bbob bbob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: nashville, tn USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: 8 Core Users??

Man..... I love the DUC.
I was leaning towards installing 8-12 gig of RAM. Sounds like 4 will do the job.
Thanks guys.
BT
__________________
HD2 Accel
PT 7.4
OS 10.5.4
MacPro 8 core
www.btruitt.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Audio for HD users still utterly crippled Vinylizor Pro Tools 9 17 12-08-2010 02:19 PM
8 Core Mac Pro users... pguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 11-12-2008 10:32 AM
Any iMac Core 2 users yet? MarkusB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 08-27-2008 07:17 AM
Any Core 2 Duo users yet? tjkili 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-10-2006 08:03 AM
Interesting Question for Core Duo Users... Rock_Artist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-15-2006 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com