Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2006, 06:15 PM
johng5678 johng5678 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default ICON studio design

Are there any ICON studio design templates/examples? For D-Tools? More detail is better. Not quite sure how signal routing/patchbay setup would go especially in the case of the XMON. It would be great if I could get my hands on some integration manuals or something. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2006, 06:45 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: ICON studio design

Have you looked at the X-Mon's PDF from the Tech. Doc. section? go to page 17

start there and w/ a list of everything you want to run through it.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2006, 08:48 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 369
Default Re: ICON studio design

Well, I'm just in the patchbay wiring phase now, after just finishing the design/layout side of things. Including the mic patch, I've got it on 4, 96point bantam patchbays. The mic level patchbay is slightly different than the other 3 (it has switching contacts for +,-, AND Ground), but all come from Audio Accessories. For me, the only way I can live with Mic-level patches being on a bantam patchbay is if all three pins disconnect when a mic line is patched to a new preamp. To be honest, I'd rather have the mic patches on an XLR panel, but space and practicality win in this case.

For the time being, I have things wired with straight DB25 to DB25 directly from interfaces to XMON, but once things are on the patchbays, it'll be a bit easier to integrate things from the outside world... One thing that really threw me off was the fact that the CUE INPUTS on XMON use pairs 1&2 (cue 1) 3&4 (cue 2) and 5&6 (cue 3) of the 8 pair, but the CUE OUTPUTS use pairs 3&4 (cue 1), 5&6 (cue 2) and 7&8 (cue 3), with the Studio Loudspeaker outputs back on pair #1&2. Very odd...

You'll likely find some dissenters on this board, but I've decided to give in to the Digidesign layout, and connect everything with the L, Lc, C, Rc, R, Ls, Rs, LFE layout (even though I'll probably never use Lc or Rc). A lot of people really like to have the main stereo outputs on 1&2 of their interface, but it's so easy to go into the I/O setup and drag the little 'R' over to the 5th output... The 'HEADPHONE' feed that goes from the XMON back over to the desk, gets it's signal from 'L'(#1) and 'R'(#5) of the 'MAIN' input, so it's almost like resistance is futile...

In my configuration, I'm allowing for 48 Mic lines coming from the studio, 48 Mic preamp inputs, 48 Mic preamp outputs, and 32 Inputs to ProTools. I've allowed for 32 outputs from Protools on the patchbay, but I'll only be wiring 16 of them for now. I'm using two 192i/o interfaces, each with 16 A/D inputs, and 8 outputs on each.

The first 8ch output from Protools normals to the 'MAIN INPUT' on XMON. I have my DVD/SACD player normalling to the 'SURROUND INPUT' (via a TASCAM LA80 -10 to +4 balancing amp) The second 8ch output normals to the 'CUE INPUTS', but I have output 7&8 from the second interface normalling to the AFL input, -AND- one of the Stereo inputs so that I can monitor my stereo downmix. I've decided to bring the 'MAIN OUTPUTS' and Speaker Inputs up on the patchbay because I then have the flexibility of patching it to a different monitor system if a client decides they want that. I'm generally not a fan of having the amplifier inputs available on the patchbay, but I will install plastic plugs in the jacks that feed cue amps and main speaker inputs.

I managed to lay out the patchbay such that I still have about 48 jacks (3 rows of 16...I'm going from memory here, maybe it's more/less??) available for outboard compressors, EQ's etc. (in addition to the 48 Mic Pre in/outs).

I'l post more as I get closer to completion of the audio install...

Cheers, eh?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2006, 11:46 AM
johng5678 johng5678 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: ICON studio design

cool. thanks for both the replies.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2006, 11:54 AM
filmixer filmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 968
Default Re: ICON studio design

>You'll likely find some dissenters on this board, but I've decided to give in to the Digidesign layout, and connect everything with the L, Lc, C, Rc, R, Ls, Rs, LFE layout (even though I'll probably never use Lc or Rc). A lot of people really like to have the main stereo outputs on 1&2 of their interface, but it's so easy to go into the I/O setup and drag the little 'R' over to the 5th output... The 'HEADPHONE' feed that goes from the XMON back over to the desk, gets it's signal from 'L'(#1) and 'R'(#5) of the 'MAIN' input, so it's almost like resistance is futile...<

"Resistance is futile" is about right. There have been a couple of threads on what the best way to wire is, but in the end I think you have to go with Digi's implementation of the Xmon. You can't really "force" the layout to anything other than L,Lc,C,Rc.Ls,Rs,Lfe. The main reason being is that you can't re-map the channel buttons on the main monitor section for muting the individual speakers. If you push the "Right" speaker mute on an ICON, it will mute output 5 on the Xmon, no matter what. I think Mixchump is wiring the only practical way as far as the Xmon goes. Having all analog connections coming up on patch bays will give the greatest flexibility, just like it's always been.
__________________
Mark Ettel C.A.S.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2006, 07:03 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: ICON studio design

I built ITU to X-Mon crossover Snakes.

If I want to bounce L R the need to be a congruent pair.

Also I monitor out of the D to A but use the SPIDF out to the AES3i input of a DSR1500 for the lay-back quite a lot.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:45 PM
filmixer filmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 968
Default Re: ICON studio design

>I built ITU to X-Mon crossover Snakes.<

Sure, that will work great also. I think everyone should wire for the format they use the majority of the time. I would still bring the 192 i/o to Xmon connections up on a patch bay though.
__________________
Mark Ettel C.A.S.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:09 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: ICON studio design

I do to so I guess technically I crossover from patchbay to X-Mon
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Icon design oversight? mtung ICON & C|24 1 07-07-2008 09:32 PM
Studio Experts....Tips for studio design. H-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-30-2005 06:08 PM
Studio Design Help ajazzie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-29-2002 11:11 PM
Need help with Studio Design!!! =o peneslapepe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 04-28-2002 08:39 AM
Studio Design adamjohnson General Discussion 4 02-19-2002 02:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com