Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2014, 02:20 AM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default PT 11.2.2 and higher will break Thunderbolt HDX functionality

If you are using Thunderbolt HDX on an Mac system running 10.10, the PTHD Software installers for 11.2.2 and 11.3.0 will break your thunderbolt connection and make the HDX card invisible to Pro Tools and OSX. The firmware updater does not work.

Though pro tools 11.2.1 worked great on Mavericks/Thunderbolt, Avid has removed it from the Avid account portal, you know, the one where we're supposed to have access to all our installers, past and present?
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Funki - I came, I saw, I laid the stank down

System 1: Retina MBP 512SSD/16RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
System 2: Mac Mini - 512SSD/8RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
OSX 10.8.5
Pro Tools 10 HD
Pro Tools 11 HD
SYNC HD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2014, 02:51 AM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default Re: PT 11.2.2 and higher will break Thunderbolt HDX functionality

That's right folks, regressing to version 11.1.2 (which isn't even certified for Mavericks) makes everything work like a well-oild machine again, while updating to 11.3.0 (which "has been certified on Mavericks") breaks the HDX Thunderbolt functionality such that Pro Tools can't even see the bloody HDX card at all. NO there is no bloody firmware update. It does not happen.

Thank you, Avid, for an entire day twatting around with these worthless installers and drivers. I SO much more enjoyed doing this than making music.
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Funki - I came, I saw, I laid the stank down

System 1: Retina MBP 512SSD/16RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
System 2: Mac Mini - 512SSD/8RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
OSX 10.8.5
Pro Tools 10 HD
Pro Tools 11 HD
SYNC HD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2014, 06:36 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,937
Default Re: PT 11.2.2 and higher will break Thunderbolt HDX functionality

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokinBaldMonkey View Post
That's right folks, regressing to version 11.1.2 (which isn't even certified for Mavericks) makes everything work like a well-oild machine again, while updating to 11.3.0 (which "has been certified on Mavericks") breaks the HDX Thunderbolt functionality such that Pro Tools can't even see the bloody HDX card at all. NO there is no bloody firmware update. It does not happen.

Thank you, Avid, for an entire day twatting around with these worthless installers and drivers. I SO much more enjoyed doing this than making music.
Which chassis are you using? Firmware update works well for me in a pcie slot.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2014, 02:02 PM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default Re: PT 11.2.2 and higher will break Thunderbolt HDX functionality

Sonnet Echo Express III. Which runs great and works with every other PCIe card inside it.

Upgrading to Pro Tools 11.2.2 or higher will cause the HDX cards to vanish. No firmware update, nothing.
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Funki - I came, I saw, I laid the stank down

System 1: Retina MBP 512SSD/16RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
System 2: Mac Mini - 512SSD/8RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
OSX 10.8.5
Pro Tools 10 HD
Pro Tools 11 HD
SYNC HD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2014, 02:58 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,937
Default Re: PT 11.2.2 and higher will break Thunderbolt HDX functionality

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokinBaldMonkey View Post
Sonnet Echo Express III. Which runs great and works with every other PCIe card inside it.

Upgrading to Pro Tools 11.2.2 or higher will cause the HDX cards to vanish. No firmware update, nothing.
I would try to update the firmware in a pcie mac or pc andput it back on the chassis and see if it works. Also, I I don't think that chassis is supported but that doesn't mean it won't work. You might just have to jump through some hoops to make it work.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2014, 08:40 PM
Bruce Paine's Avatar
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: PT 11.2.2 and higher will break Thunderbolt HDX functionality

The 11.2.1 downloads have been added to your Avid account, with some of the other versions at the bottom.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2014, 10:18 AM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 213
Default Re: PT 11.2.2 and higher will break Thunderbolt HDX functionality

Hello,
Thank you for posting your problem, we're in the process of updating several 10HD systems to 11HD, this is good to know if it's correct. Keeping an eye on your progress. The Sonnet chassis is qualified. I'm currently downloading v11.2.1 "just in case", we tend to keep copies of installers back a few versions due to issues like this.

Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-22-2014, 02:04 PM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 143
Default Re: PT 11.2.2 and higher will break Thunderbolt HDX functionality

Installed today a fresh Yosemite with ProTools HD 10.3, and it just works with my Sonnettech Echo Express III D... just one HDX card and one UAD octo card...
No problem there... BUT...
I just didnt get my 3 screens to work... what worked for a year with Maverick, will not work under Yosemite... 2 monitors 1080p and 1 TV 1080p HDMI.
Sometimes only 1 screen worked... reboot sometimes 2 but never all 3.
Tried everything... :-/

Luckly I made a carbon copy of my disk before I did the upgrade.

Im back on Maverick and everything is fine again... BUMMER.

But hdx was no problem with yosemite... protools just run fine.

Johnny
__________________
Johnny Hulst

Hulst Audio Engineering
MacPro (2019) 3,3ghz 12-core, 64gb Ram, 2Tb system SSD
Avid HDX, UAD-2 Octo, RME Hdspe AES & HD Native Thunderbolt
Sonnet M.2 4x4 PCIe (4x 250gb Samsung980pro)
Sonnet Allegro Pro USB-A 3.2, 4-port PCIe
Avid MTRX - mic/pre- & da-card, Dante Module,
MADI Module with SFP/LC module multimode 1300nm
MOM by DAD
192 I/O (64 analog inputs)
Avid Artist Mix
Genelec 1237A Sam
Genelec 1031A
Avantone mixcube
Rupert Neve RNHP
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-23-2014, 08:10 PM
rinky rinky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 252
Default Re: PT 11.2.2 and higher will break Thunderbolt HDX functionality

Confirming that HDX Thunderbolt (Magma) connection is broken after upgrading to Yosemite then PT 11.3.
Will have to go back to Mavericks and PT 11.2.1 as suggested.
Should have cloned prior to upgrades! What a waste of 2 days!
__________________
PT Ultimate 2021.3.1
PT HDX
MacPro 7,1
16 Core
96 GB ram
OS X Catalina 10.15.7
Somehow, musicians are now technicians!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2015, 06:10 PM
Sonny Keyes Sonny Keyes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 334
Default Re: PT 11.2.2 and higher will break Thunderbolt HDX functionality

Any developments on this? I just set up my new system, PT11.3 on HDX on a brand new Trash Can running 10.10 using a Magma chassis for the card and I've been scratching my head all afternoon trying to figure out why Pro Tools doesn't see the hardware. Do I really have to regress to 10.9 to make it work at all for the first time?

EDIT: Turns out it was a faulty Thunderbolt cable! Everything working properly now, running Pro Tools 11.3 on Yosemite on HDX with a Magma EB3T.
Sure is fast.
__________________
Sonny Keyes
Toronto
http://www.sonnykeyes.ca

Rig 1: 2.8GHz Macbook Pro PT 12.7.1 Logic 10.3.2 Scarlett 18i20
Rig 2: 2.66 QuadCore Intel Xeon Logic 10.2.0 Scarlett 18i20 PTHD10.3.10

Last edited by Sonny Keyes; 01-12-2015 at 10:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 05:49 PM
Until Someone Makes a Thunderbolt Hub, Thunderbolt is a (1/2 Useless) Dead End Street relaxo Pro Tools 10 7 11-12-2012 11:43 AM
Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ Ports Barry Johns Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 08-11-2012 07:01 AM
What is OMS functionality? pinkdaygreenfloyd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-10-2006 10:02 AM
002 functionality Bosskitty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 01-09-2006 12:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com