Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-1999, 01:57 AM
ewhite ewhite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 7
Default digi 001 vs. MOTU 1224

The following is a message I sent to MOTU preceded by their response. I forwarded this to Digidesign to get their side of the story, but have not yet heard back.

Perhaps somebody from Digi would like to respond to this letter from MOTU. I would like to hear why I would want Digi 001 over the MOTU 1224.


Ethan,
Thank you for your interest.
I can only do part of Digi's job for them ;-) My info on the Digi 001
comes from their web site.
The 001 is a combination of software and hardware. Digi wants you to use
all-Digi products, so there is no support for any third-party software
with the 001 hardware. We have tested Digital Performer with a beta
version of the 001. The audio inputs and outputs worked with our direct
I/O drivers. This functionality could be changed by Digidesign at any
time.

The MIDI sequencer in ProTools 5 looks a lot like Performer version 3
(circa 1990). One difference between ProTools 5LE and Digital Performer
is that PT 5LE does not send or receive sync.

According to the Digi site, the resolution of the 001 converters is 24
bit. They claim a dynamic range of 98 db. We get 98 db of dynamic range
from the 20 bit converters on our 2408. In other words, we get the same
spec at 20 bits that Digi gets at 24 bit. The 24 bit converters on our
1224 interface are rated at 116 db dynamic range.
Our hardware system includes a range of four different audio interfaces
which cover ADAT Lightpipe, Tascam TDIF, S/PDIF, Toslink, AES/EBU, 20 bit
and 24 bit A/D-D/A converters. All our audio interfaces have word clock
input and output. Sample accurate ADAT sync is built into our PCI card.
The maximum number of 24 bit I/O on the MOTU system is 72 channels. In
order to upgrade the MOTU system, you buy additional rack interfaces.
The most expensive interface we make is the 24i which has 24 channels of
balanced, +4 db, 24 inputs. The cost for the 24i rack unit is $1149.00.

The Digi 001 can not be expanded unless you upgrade to ProTools TDM
systems. I expect you'll be checking out the cost on that!

If I can be of further service, please let me know.

David Roberts - MOTU
magicd@motu.com

>Digidesign told me I should ask you rather than them how compatible the
>new Digi 001 dig audio i/o is with Dig Performer 2.5.
>
>Please also tell me how you feel the Digi 001 compares to your
>comparable system, the 1224. Please compare with as many specific stats
>as possible.
>
>Much obliged!
>
>-Ethan

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-1999, 01:27 AM
Jake Landau Jake Landau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 4
Default Re: digi 001 vs. MOTU 1224

I would really like to know the LATENCY of Motu compared to Digi. I´ve heard that Digi wins...
__________________
Jake
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-1999, 09:08 AM
haze haze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: san ramon, ca usa
Posts: 730
Default Re: digi 001 vs. MOTU 1224

I've heard from several users on this forum
that the latency sucks big time on the Motu
systems. To me, there is too much money on
the line for PT not to kick Motu's ass down
the line. Yes, there are not as many features
on PTLE and inputs/outputs/throughputs on
the 001. But, the system is obviously meant
for poeple like me who want an all inclusive
gateway into recording on the computer. As time goes by, upgrades add-ons (smpte-ruler,
96k support, midi-features)will be added and
PT will slaughter the MOTU system. By the
way, some of you complain about the tech
support. I've heard nothing but bad news
about the tech support at MOTU, unless you want to give them a chance to bash the 001.
They don't even have a forum to bash their
products! What does that tell you??

The 001 is NOT perfect, but i'd rather
by a baby pro-tools that i can take into
a 'real studio' and have it run on a
TDM system, than throw my money at MOTU.
And you know what, there are many, many
more that feel the same way.

And if you don't like it, i'm sure the
002 is not too far off in the distance.

haze


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-1999, 12:20 AM
ewhite ewhite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 7
Default Re: digi 001 vs. MOTU 1224

Here is Digi's response to an email with that original letter included:


The fact remains that MOTU's gear will never work with ProTools software
which is industry standard and state of the art in terms of digital
audio
recording and editing features. Just like their 1224 the Digi001
features ADAT Lightpipe, S/PDIF and high quality 24 bit A/D-D/A
converters. Head to your local Digi authoirzed retailer and check out
how easy the 001 is to use and how great it sounds and we think the
choice will be easy.

I didn't find this response to be quite as technical as I was hoping. I did think MOTU's response was more indepth and specific. In fact, I think I got better responses on this forum from Digidesign fans than from the techs at the company.

Latency is a good issue to discuss. Would somebody like to enlighten me as to how the models compare? Does anyone know? How well do softwares compensate?

And doesn't MOTU make some good points in their original letter? Don't you guys think the inability to upgrade is a little offensive? Someone here mentioned their excitement about the "002." Digidesign seems to have it set up that you would have to go out and buy an entirely new system if a 002 came out. There are no ways to attach new units or upgrades to the 001. And isn't the 98db of dyn range a little low compared with many of the other models out there? Most of them are at or around 120db, which to me, the somewhat uneducated consumer, seems a lot higher than 98.

Also, I wonder if there is any other way to open non protools sessions in protools. I guess plug-ins really couldn't translate, but is there NO other way to get your tracks onto a protools system? Is protools LE the only program that has that ability?

And even if I got the DIGI 001, I probably wouldn't always use the protool LE, since my studio will still be largely midi based and my Dig Performer has VERY strong midi capabilities, so I wonder how well the 001 is going to function out of its software environment. Apparently DIGI is not supplying any software drivers for its unit.

Any comments or answers to my questions are much appreciated.

[This message has been edited by ewhite (edited 11-17-99).]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-1999, 01:38 PM
zingsthings zingsthings is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Evansville IN 47710
Posts: 17
Default Re: digi 001 vs. MOTU 1224

First off MOTU service via email is extremely good. I have emailed them over 30 times and have always recieved a response to my question. I currently own Digital Performer 2.5 which contains Audiodesk which is what comes with the 2408. I seen the 001 video and sorry to say but Audiodesk has a MUCH better interface and 10 times the amount of plugins that are also real time. The latency on the MOTU has just never bothered me.However, I am not that crazy about the reverb.

PT LE looks way out dated. Come on Digi how hard would it have been to make it look better? I think Digi is just getting into this type of market cause they know in a year or so computers will be able to handle the processing like their TDM stuff.Bet their ****ing in their pants. I am patiently waiting for a better 001. Maybe thee 002. We'll have to wait and see.

Take care.

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-1999, 08:53 PM
carlone carlone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 666
Default Re: digi 001 vs. MOTU 1224

Motu no matter how you spin it the bottom line comes down to this.

1. LATENCY (no truly professional studio could make a dime if they advertised that they have a 2408).

2. Look in any add for a recording studio. No one says "Hey come record here, I have performer and a 2408".

3. Pro Tools software/hardware is in the serious studios and they are not ashamed to let you know it.

4. The 001 is a quality interface, not the "best" interface but it's quality for a good price. The 2408's are okay and they offer quite a few added features (adat sync ect..) but the 2408 is not a high end interface either.
To me it comes down to do you wanna start learning pro tools software now or later.
If you stay serious with your music you'll end up in front of a pro tools system sooner or later in somebodys studio.


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIGI 001 and Motu 2048 MK II or Motu 24i+ Logic Audio cyril 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-19-2002 09:08 PM
How's the sonic quality of the MOTU 1224 interface? PwAg General Discussion 1 12-11-2001 12:39 AM
Digi 001 vs Motu 2408 & 1224 Music_Pal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-30-2001 10:57 AM
MOTU 1224 truble rcr Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 10-31-2000 10:09 AM
MOTU 1224 LidMan General Discussion 1 06-19-1999 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com