Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2002, 11:55 AM
kik kik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: the internet
Posts: 11
Default norton disk utilities help!

I need to keep my drive on my protools III PCI system drives defragmented , I have heard that norton disk utilities III is not good for mac os 8.5 , but I have run this drive as low as Os 8, wich this version of disk utilities is fine for defragmenting . My question is , does the out board protools drive use mac os , or just using dae , in retrospect will norton disk utillities for os 8.0 hurt to defragment my protools III drive for dae 5.0?Which is running on my mac with 8.6 , I was thinking that the drive is not using the o.s , but just using dae and being compatable with the o.s? , any help would be appretiated.
thanks
kik
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2002, 01:07 AM
denbee denbee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 13
Default Re: norton disk utilities help!

Can you simply erase the drive? That works well. If you need to back up data, how about saving it to another drive, erasing the data drive and restoring it?

PS Is there a reason you are not running OS 9?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2002, 12:09 PM
kik kik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: the internet
Posts: 11
Default Re: norton disk utilities help!

well erasing the drive could be a option , but it doesn't get rid of the undefragmented data does it , I hear that traces of the data still remain on the drive until re-written ? I could be totally wrong ?
My main reason for staying with 8.6 , is that its stayble , I haven't seen anyprobs occured and its free. I don't have to go and buy another O.s Unles someone wants to give me a copy of 9 .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2002, 02:19 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,410
Default Re: norton disk utilities help!

Techically you are correct - Erasing or Initializing the drive doesn't get rid of the data. It does however wipe the directory so the whole drive is available for the computer to write to.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAC OSX & Norton Utilities ? bluesna Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-06-2005 02:44 PM
MAC OSX & Norton Utilities ? bluesna General Discussion 0 04-04-2005 08:44 PM
norton utilities mersisblue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 10-01-2003 07:11 AM
Norton Utilities on PT Macs? Mick F. Cantarella Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 07-30-2002 10:31 AM
Norton Utilities Bill Miller General Discussion 0 10-05-2000 03:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com