Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2021, 03:14 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 197
Default Hybrid Mixer and HDX - need a separate "mixing" high-latency DSP mode for tracks

Most of us with HDX cards have for the past 10 years mixed so that most of our plugins are native, hopping back and forth between the DSP mixer and the CPU on Aux Input tracks. With the Hybrid Mixer, we need that functionality back, but the other way around - to have a track be able to use AAX DSP plugins without it enabling the low latency DSP monitoring Mode and being unable to use native plugins after one DSP plugin in the chain. This would obviously add major latency, but it would be ok for mixing (like it was before with the DSP mixer).

This would enable us to still utilize the DSP on our cards for supported plugins, and it would also help break the "single core chain" prohibiting long processing chains on older multicore processors (like the ones on 2019 Mac Pros even, and especially the older MP's) that now give CPU errors even though overal multicore CPU power would be available.
__________________
Win 11 i9-12900K, MSI PRO Z690-A, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX960 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2021.10

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, OSX Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.6

HDX2, HD I/O 16x16 and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2021, 07:15 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,538
Default Re: Hybrid Mixer and HDX - need a separate "mixing" high-latency DSP mode for tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skwaidu View Post
Most of us with HDX cards have for the past 10 years mixed so that most of our plugins are native, hopping back and forth between the DSP mixer and the CPU on Aux Input tracks. With the Hybrid Mixer, we need that functionality back, but the other way around - to have a track be able to use AAX DSP plugins without it enabling the low latency DSP monitoring Mode and being unable to use native plugins after one DSP plugin in the chain. This would obviously add major latency, but it would be ok for mixing (like it was before with the DSP mixer).

This would enable us to still utilize the DSP on our cards for supported plugins, and it would also help break the "single core chain" prohibiting long processing chains on older multicore processors (like the ones on 2019 Mac Pros even, and especially the older MP's) that now give CPU errors even though overal multicore CPU power would be available.
I'm not clear on what you are saying. Given if want to be able to run DSP enabled in DSP mode and native plugins on the same track , you can simply run the session in regular HDX mode just like before, and not use hybrid... ??

OR Because in Hybrid mode,,,, you can run (as you say) "have a track be able to use AAX DSP plugins without it enabling the low latency DSP monitoring Mode and being unable to use native plugins after one DSP plugin in the chain." ------by simply putting track in "DSP safe mode" and run that track in native with any mix of DSP capable and native only plugins in any order ???
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.10 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 10-24-2021 at 07:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2021, 09:51 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 463
Default Re: Hybrid Mixer and HDX - need a separate "mixing" high-latency DSP mode for tracks

I abandoned hybrid mixing. When I track with plugins it’s is usually a combo of native and dsp. It’s difficult to do that in hybrid mode and I found the delay compensation to be a few samples off. Other than the advantage of higher track/voice counts at the higher sample rates, there was no real advantage for me. I prefer tracking the way we have always done it and the flexibility plus ultra low latency it provides.

I’m planning on upgrading to hdx2 maybe hdx3 by the end of the year. That with my Uad octo card and native power of my current system is really more than enough for me. Maybe adding a M1 Mac mini for the acustica stuff.

Ej
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bouncing with audio tracks in "Input" mode. Matmorfus Pro Tools 2020 4 04-17-2020 07:33 AM
Auto Low Latency On/Off ("Blue Mode") setting no longer imports... O.G. Killa Pro Tools 12 0 10-28-2016 06:02 PM
Switching subwoofer from "discrete mode" to "stereo mode"? Slerker Post - Surround - Video 6 02-11-2009 08:04 PM
downsides to "low latency monitor" mode jacko32 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-16-2003 01:27 AM
How to blend "three" separate audio tracks onto one track..? Sabe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 08-31-2002 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com