Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-26-2003, 07:00 PM

Default OMS/midi setup for my SR-16 drum machine

When I installed my LE software and did the OMS setup, I didn't have the SR-16. I've been using the SR-16 to put down click tracks via audio outs. Now, I want to enable the midi so I can trigger sampling software.

How do I reconfigure OMS and set up my device? Has anyone done this that can walk me through. This is my first time doing anything with midi, so use small words [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] .

Oh, and when I go into OMS now...my digi has a big question mark through it on the midi device map.
Old 05-27-2003, 06:44 AM

Default Re: OMS/midi setup for my SR-16 drum machine

Bump...anyone?
Old 05-27-2003, 07:06 AM

Quote:
Now, I want to enable the midi so I can trigger sampling software.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">You want the beat patterns in the sr16 to trigger samples in a software sampler on your mac? I dont think that can be done. Why do you want that anyway?

If you mean letting midi notes in PT triggering the samples on the sr16, it would make more sense. Hook it up (and everything else you want oms to recognize in your system), select "Create new setup" from the menu in oms. The sr16 will be recognized as a midi module, and it should show up in the output selector on midi tracks in PT. Set it to "rec" and then you can trigger the samples with a keyboard.

The sr16 can be set up to have all or most of its sounds to be spread across the keyboard, I hope you have the manual for sr16 because it can be quite complicated.