Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2002, 07:56 AM
Larryboy Larryboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 357
Default Beige G3 acceleration

I have a Beige G3 DT and have been reading the XLR8 web page but couldn`t find anything about my personal setup (I installed a Maxpower 500mhz G3 card). Does anyone have a similar setup AND accelerated their Mac a little more, esp. the bus speed?
__________________
27in 3gHz Intel iMac w/8gb RAM, 13" MacBook Pro 2.7gHz i7, Pro Tools 10, Logic Pro 9, Apogee Quartet, Grace M101, Rosetta 800, Speck X-Sum, Roland XV-5050, Event PS6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2002, 08:07 AM
yoursick studio yoursick studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Leuven, Belgium / Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Beige G3 acceleration

you can overclock your g3 beige`s bus speed but i don`t think it will work if you have such a card installed.
i have a g3 300 tower and it is running at 385Mhz with a 77Mhz bus-system 83Mhz is also possible for busspeed.

if you have a g3 266 or so .. i don`t think it will go faster than 300Mhz.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2002, 08:13 AM
Larryboy Larryboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 357
Default Re: Beige G3 acceleration

Thanks for the reply, Yoursick. It wouldn`t work because of the card? When I checked XLR8 I think I saw a few people with other kinds of upgrade cards that had also increased their bus, just no one with the Maxpower.
__________________
27in 3gHz Intel iMac w/8gb RAM, 13" MacBook Pro 2.7gHz i7, Pro Tools 10, Logic Pro 9, Apogee Quartet, Grace M101, Rosetta 800, Speck X-Sum, Roland XV-5050, Event PS6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2002, 01:25 AM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,505
Default Re: Beige G3 acceleration

Hey LB, when you installed that MaxPower, did you have to mess w/ the DIPswitch jumper setting?
Also, is the ZIF chip a fixed or variable speed one?
If its fixed, then yursick is correct, you cannot xlr8 it anymore, bus or cpu.
I have a G3 MT upgraded w/ an XLR8 G3z 500.
I could overclock the cpu to 533, but have not tried it.
I once had an OWC zif that i overclocked, but i eventually killed it.
In fact..www.macsales.com has alot of info on this....its in their tech pages i think.

rock

sdf
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU vs hardware acceleration Mack Truck macOS 2 02-06-2012 05:40 PM
File Acceleration Testing BroomPole Post - Surround - Video 0 02-03-2012 12:09 PM
knob acceleration adjustment robertg Artist Series 9 11-18-2011 06:22 AM
acceleration question! right beside Tips & Tricks 4 09-03-2007 12:31 PM
what should I choose? scsi w/ beige g3 or ide w/ beige DT w/G4 upgrade??HELP!!!!! minuaño 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-16-2000 05:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com