Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2017, 08:59 AM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 87
Default S3 and Digi 003 combination

Hi folks,

I was wondering if it's possible to use my digi 003 as my 5.1 monitor out (it has one master volume knob with 8 1/4'' outs) and use the S3 as my controller? Thanks a bunch!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2017, 11:44 PM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 87
Default Re: S3 and Digi 003 combination

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2017, 07:11 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,069
Default Re: S3 and Digi 003 combination

I don't see why not, the Digi Controller bit won't do anything though, just be audio I/O.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2017, 01:14 PM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 87
Default Re: S3 and Digi 003 combination

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
I don't see why not, the Digi Controller bit won't do anything though, just be audio I/O.
Sorry for the late acknowledgement, but thank you Mr. Eddie Jones! Once again, always a professional.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2017, 06:20 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,690
Default Re: S3 and Digi 003 combination

Assuming you have the HD version of Pro Tools software
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2017, 04:35 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,299
Default Re: S3 and Digi 003 combination

Quote:
I was wondering if it's possible to use my digi 003 as my 5.1 monitor out (it has one master volume knob with 8 1/4'' outs) and use the S3 as my controller? Thanks a bunch!
I've never tried the S3 with 003, but years ago I had the 003 feeding a 5.1 system. It works well, but the volume knob does not gang across the outputs, you'll have to use a monitor controller to properly change levels. And you probably already know this, but the D/As in the 003 sound a little rubbery and grey.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2017, 06:54 PM
Philharmonic7 Philharmonic7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 87
Default Re: S3 and Digi 003 combination

Yes, I do have Pro Tools HD and know the limitation of 5.1 monitoring through the Digi 003. As of now, it'll do. Thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combination of VI's and Hardware guitarist9891 Pro Tools 12 23 10-18-2015 01:03 PM
Can I use this hardware combination? mozart Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-09-2008 08:10 AM
Most stable combination ismokind Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-17-2008 08:12 AM
Panther & LE, which combination? SebastianEdward 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-07-2005 05:15 PM
Help for Microphone combination dave_koz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 03-25-2002 06:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com