Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #131  
Old 04-23-2018, 09:29 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,344
Default Re: 2018.3 & 4 Running Well Here.

I'm not seeing this on Windows. Perhaps some other Mac users could chime in.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 04-24-2018, 08:08 PM
H-man H-man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 478
Default Re: 2018.3 & 4 Running Well Here.

yep, I'm seeing this too on my MBP running Sierra 2018.4.1
__________________
Don't be a puppet on strings!
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 04-24-2018, 09:27 PM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 294
Default Re: 2018.3 & 4 Running Well Here.

2018.3 and .4 are solid here except for the offline bouncing/ committing issues outlined here:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=398504

hope Avid adresses the problem.
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
http://www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 04-25-2018, 02:48 AM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 759
Default Re: 2018.3 & 4 Running Well Here.

As someone has already pointed out I am experiencing hysteric cpu peaks when running at 128 samples (45%) with a session with only 32 stereo audio tracks with no plugins inserted and with no addictional plugins in the folder (deleted the pref, removed all plugins and makes pt to reinstall its core plugins), but by switching to the internal mac out the cpu goes down to 5% (9 times less). Yesterday after further tests I discover that by closing or hiding the edit window while pt is playing the cpu goes down as when running through the internal mac out. Same thing happens if hiding tracks and maintaing the edit w open. Very weird. A couple of days ago i tried to reinstall yosemite on another disk and pthd 11.3.2 and all works fine and i was able to run the session at 64 samples with no cpu spikes
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 32GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 04-27-2018, 10:17 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,344
Default Re: 2018.3 & 4 Running Well Here.

Interesting. And this is all with HDX, right?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 04-27-2018, 11:23 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,738
Default Re: 2018.3 & 4 Running Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by innesireinar View Post
A couple of days ago i tried to reinstall yosemite on another disk and pthd 11.3.2 and all works fine and i was able to run the session at 64 samples with no cpu spikes

That is the stake through the heart

Sometimes newer is not better.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 04-27-2018, 05:17 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 759
Default Re: 2018.3 & 4 Running Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Interesting. And this is all with HDX, right?
Yes, sure my mac is very old (2010) and maybe its graphic performance could conflict with the pt processing, btw I don' t understand why it works flawless by switching to internal out
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 32GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 04-27-2018, 05:22 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 759
Default Re: 2018.3 & 4 Running Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
That is the stake through the heart

Sometimes newer is not better.
Once found a stable rig we should stop upgrading and updating. At least for a while
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 32GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 04-27-2018, 09:43 PM
Emi's Avatar
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 484
Default Re: 2018.3 & 4 Running Well Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by innesireinar View Post
Once found a stable rig we should stop upgrading and updating. At least for a while
This is so true, but everytime there is an update I just have to hit that button. It's like the "don't push the red button"....
__________________
Mac Mini M1 | Mac OS Big Sur 11.4 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Motu 1248 | Pro Tools 2021.3 Native
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 04-28-2018, 02:20 AM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 759
Default Re: 2018.3 & 4 Running Well Here.

I found that having two separate partitions is the right way to go. One for working, the other for testing new releases
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 32GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going from PT 6.4 to 2018 CDB Studios WI Getting Started 7 02-25-2018 04:32 AM
Issues running PT 12.x and 2018 on Late 2012 i7 iMac 27" 3.4Ghz 32GB Ram foxes Pro Tools 2018 26 02-18-2018 11:44 AM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 05:01 PM
Pt 2018 os x 10.12.6 Stys64 Pro Tools 2018 5 02-06-2018 08:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com