Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2022, 01:23 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,793
Default Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

These HD Native Thunderbolt boxes are Thunderbolt 2 and use the TB2 connector (I suppose some call it mini displayport). The new Macs have USB-C ports. You can see where this is going...

I'd initially thought that I could use Apple's basic TB2-to-USB-C adapter, but I noticed in the fine print that this adapter doesn't work with certain displays, namely those with Displayports. This got me wondering if this adapter would work with the Avid HD Native Thunderbolt box.

Does anyone know? Cutting to the chase, what is the absolute best option for connecting TB2 to USB-C? It's the MacStudio Ultimate that I have in mind, if that helps. They do have a different type of connector on the front, if that weights into the equation.

This is the adapter in question: https://www.apple.com/shop/product/M...duct-MMEL2AM/A
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2022, 02:15 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,929
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

It should work fine, PCIe over Thunderbolt foo is relatively simple. Many many people here use these Apple Thunderbolt 3 to 2 adapters with the Thunderbolt Native box.

The display warning you are worrying about is not relevant here. Thunderbolt 1 and 2 used a Displayport connector instead of the USB-C connector used in Thunderbolt 3 and 4. All the warning is pointing out is even though the connector look the same you can't plug this Thunderbolt adapter into an actual Displayport port and expect it to work. And what is going on with display over Thunderbolt is different to PCIe data over Thunderbolt.

But note that one user on DUC reporting having problems with Native on a Mac Studio with a Lynx interface (which may or may not be relevant) on the Mac Studio, not clear of the cause: https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=419428 another user in that same thread reporting Native runs fine. And we are maybe getting off track there with HD native PCIe vs. HD Native thunderbolt.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2022, 03:22 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Fantastic. Thx Darryl!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2022, 08:38 AM
iode131 iode131 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

I find myself in a similar conundrum.
I just got a Thunderbolt HD Native to use with a new M1 mac mini. Got the same recommended USB-C-to-TB2 adapter from Apple and performed all the required setup steps, including the Security ones. I'm confident all is well on the software side.

But the box will not turn on. Dead. No power led, no show in PT, no show in MacOS System Report.

My question is: I got a Mini DisplayPort cable in the box, not a Thunderbolt cable. Could that be the issue?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2022, 10:21 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,273
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

M1 needs native drivers. You need to wait until PT is Apple Silicon native software w/drivers.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2022, 10:30 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,929
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
M1 needs native drivers. You need to wait until PT is Apple Silicon native software w/drivers.
What? No.

Avid has had Apple Silicon HD Driver support available for some time. This does not require all the Pro Tools application software to be Apple silicon native, just the HD Driver.... which was done a while ago... how do you think all the other users talking about running HD Native and HDX with Apple Silicon systems get their stuff to work?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2022, 12:23 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,273
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

I don't think all of the users, but my HDN is not good to go with Apple Silicon
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-28-2022, 11:42 AM
iode131 iode131 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Quick 2 cents:
Using a proper Thunderbolt cable (not the miniDisplayPort cable that was included in the box) solved all my issues.
My HDN connects fine, gets all the power it needs and I can confirm that PT Ultimate works as it should on M1 with the latest HD drivers (as of Aug28 '22) and MacOS Monterey 12.5.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-30-2022, 04:47 AM
chaos audio chaos audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I don't think all of the users, but my HDN is not good to go with Apple Silicon
He is talking about a HD Nativ Thunderbolt Box. This works without any problems. HD Native PCIe cards do not work so far (with M1 Mac Studio).
__________________
PT Ultimate 2022.10, HD NATIV TB,
MacStudio Max, Sonnet EchoIIID, MTRX Studio, 2x192, UAD2 Quad, Sonnet Fusion SSD Raid
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-30-2022, 06:04 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,273
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Yes, indeed. Darryl Ramm tested this on another thread nand I ate my hat. Nothing beatsm good testing.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt via HD Native box vs. Strictly Thunderbolt TheGrobinson Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 09-29-2022 05:30 AM
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt and Thunderbolt Cables. SoundEng1 Buy & Sell 0 10-30-2018 11:24 PM
HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC? martthie_08 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-12-2016 11:26 PM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 06:49 PM
Firewire interfaces with thunderbolt only macs John_Toolbox Third Party Interfaces 10 09-27-2013 12:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com