Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2020, 05:14 AM
Finnmaker Finnmaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 9
Default S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key

Hi! Is there any way of tying the Surface Shift key to the bottom left shift in S1(or making a soft key in the app etc)? I tried going through the possible commands in EuControl and manuals, but couldn't find a way.

I'm using the regular shift and other controls from my keyboard and the Surface Shift is just an unnecessary stretch away, but I find myself using it quite a bit. I have bad wrists from editing tons and try to save them as much as possible.

Thx!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2020, 09:03 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,817
Default Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key

Not at this moment but good idea
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2020, 02:07 PM
Finnmaker Finnmaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 9
Default Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key

Ok. Thanks for letting me know. Hopefully it would be added. :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2021, 03:03 PM
TheBarnOnMaple TheBarnOnMaple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key

I realize this is an old thread but I've just purchased the S1 and am wondering if there's been any addition to the Eucon software that now makes it possible to assign the Surface Shift Function to a user S1 track color key. The positioning of it in the top left is hard on the wrists from an ergonomic standpoint and I'd gladly give up a user key to have this functionality as an option along the bottom row.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2021, 03:06 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,817
Default Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key

There isn't a way currently. I'll bare it in mind for the future
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2021, 03:15 PM
TheBarnOnMaple TheBarnOnMaple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key

Thanks kindly for the update. The main function (as I bought the S1 for mixing) that seems cumbersome and causes wrist pain is reaching the the top left corner every time I want to cycle a tracks automation state. Is there a way to cycle through a tracks automation state by programming a user key? I can see an option to specifically select touch, latch etc.. but I didn't find an option to cycle through via a user key.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2021, 04:38 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,176
Default Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBarnOnMaple View Post
Thanks kindly for the update. The main function (as I bought the S1 for mixing) that seems cumbersome and causes wrist pain is reaching the the top left corner every time I want to cycle a tracks automation state. Is there a way to cycle through a tracks automation state by programming a user key? I can see an option to specifically select touch, latch etc.. but I didn't find an option to cycle through via a user key.
In EuControl Settings, check the box (center column) "Rec/Auto switch press changes automation modes. SHIFT+Rec/Auto switch press enables track record"

For everyone I work with and myself, that's a better use to keep that on and then you cycle by just pressing the Rec button on the channel. When you want to record, then you use the shift key.

You can also set that EuControl option to a user key to toggle its setting (Soft Keys > Surface > Options > General > Rec-Auto Changes Automation) and then when mixing, you can switch it on so automation is prioritized on the Rec buttons and when recording you can toggle it off so record is prioritized. That way you don't need to use the top shift key at all.

Hope that's helpful.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2021, 06:24 PM
TheBarnOnMaple TheBarnOnMaple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key

That’s perfect ! Thanks so much for the recommendation, it’s far more useful in that configuration :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-25-2021, 08:22 AM
TheBarnOnMaple TheBarnOnMaple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: S1 Surface Shift to Shift soft key

Thanks so much BScout! I seemed to have missed that box in Eucon and it's exactly the default functionality I was hoping for on the S1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shift-S cmbourget Pro Tools 2018 0 10-06-2018 08:25 AM
S6 Bug Report: Shift Modifier Latching with Soft Keys Dan Smith Avid S4/S6 3 05-29-2016 02:39 PM
How to turn Soft Key on AC into SHIFT key? digidesigner Artist Series 0 03-11-2013 07:50 AM
Need to use shift key mingustoo Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 09-03-2008 11:21 PM
Explanation for FORMANT shift in Time Shift Plug In, please! Darney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-13-2007 12:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com