Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2002, 08:10 AM
geminirand geminirand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 236
Default Digi001 vs. Digi001 Factory?

Hi All,

I'm setting up my studio and trying to decide on Digi001 or Digi001 Factory. I have no outboard effects. The price difference is $400 (on lowest prices I've seen anywhere), so I'm wondering if that $400 is worth it or is better spent on something else, effects wise.

I'll also be using Bomb Factory psa-1 and a drum machine. Music is instrumental hard rock, no keys. I'll take it to a pro for mastering. Sound quality must excellent (trying to record an album for professional licensing).

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Rand
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2002, 08:43 AM
electrobank electrobank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Posts: 545
Default Re: Digi001 vs. Digi001 Factory?

vs. regular plugin retail price, it is a pretty good deal. The Classic Compressors are good. Obviously they don't sound exactly like the hardware, but they are damn close. I would also recommend getting the Waves C1 Compressor and Multiband EQ. I am not a big fan of the Digidesign Plugin's,(d-fi, d-fx etc.) but they will get you by. Everything else in the DIGIFactory looks good. If your computer is built to handle a large amount of RTAS plugin's I say go fer' it. (refer to the notorious Dave C test and compare your system) [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
electrobank

2+2=5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2002, 08:47 AM
geminirand geminirand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 236
Default Re: Digi001 vs. Digi001 Factory?

Yeah, I've seen the test. My system looks pretty good, tho I have to ditch WinXP unless they change that soon.

Thanks for the info. Lot of people seem to dislike the Digidesign Plugins from my reading here. That's what made me wonder... [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2002, 09:39 AM
synthguy99 synthguy99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missouri
Posts: 256
Default Re: Digi001 vs. Digi001 Factory?

I just bought the Factory, and having the plugin options is nice, tho most of them are 10 day demos. You do get a nice round package of ready-to-run plugins. Just be aware that if you have a PC, you may need to contact Digidesign for a proper D-Verb authorizer disc, which I'm about to do. Also, the Dynamo soft synths don't want to work with my 001 since PC Direct Connect isn't implemented for non-RTAS plugins. This is supposed to change soon, so we'll see.

Even with those minor gripes, and the possibility that Digidesign will unveil a better 002 package in a couple of weeks at NAMM, the Factory is a great deal. Now, if I could just sit down with someone in the KC area to learn some of the finer details and tricks...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2002, 10:02 AM
geminirand geminirand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 236
Default Re: Digi001 vs. Digi001 Factory?

10 day demos? What do you mean? I assume you mean something else? Why would I pay $400 for 10 day demos?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2002, 10:14 AM
synthguy99 synthguy99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missouri
Posts: 256
Default Re: Digi001 vs. Digi001 Factory?

You actually get a nice selection of plugins ready to run. Bomb Factory LA2A and 1176 classic studio compressors, Moogerfooger lowpass filter, Waves eq's, multitap delay and flangers, and some decent Digidesign RTAS plugins. D-Verb for the PC uses some sort of hokey authorizer which for many of us doesn't work, and the Dynamo soft synths has to jump thru some hoops on PC, and I still haven't got it to work with anything.

Now there are a lot more plugins available as a 10 day or so demo trial period, and if you buy them you get some sort of unlocking code that makes them permanent. It's not a bad idea, so you can try things out and if they blow you away you can have a good idea of the "must haves." I just wish more of them were available in the package. I always want more toys than I can afford. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2002, 10:17 AM
geminirand geminirand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 236
Default Re: Digi001 vs. Digi001 Factory?

Yeah, I figured you musta meant something like that [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

You're right. THat is a cool idea. And you can never have too many effects, unless you turn them all on......

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q's about DIGI001 Factory software Vlad Drac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-02-2007 10:46 AM
Digi001 vs DSP FACTORY Yah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-14-2001 11:38 AM
Might buy Digi001 Factory - PC Setup??? irishb3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-30-2001 05:32 PM
Digi001 Factory? TimOz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 11-11-2001 01:20 AM
digi001 factory? danl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-07-2001 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com