Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2021, 03:53 PM
BurbankGuy BurbankGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 23
Default Midi HELP needed!!!

Hi folks,

I'm having a terrible time with Pro Tools and midi import/export.

Last week, I selected a midi clip. I renamed the clip and then exported it.
I opened a new session and imported that clip.
Not only did the name get changed to "midi.01" but the midi track was as long as the entire session.

I did the same for another midi track from the original session. Again, name got changed to "midi.02" and when I imported it there were TWO midi tracks: midi.01 AND midi.02"

OK...I'm now confused as heck.

Cut to today when I attempt to do the same thing in a completely different session.
Pro Tools is now importing the midi from LAST WEEK. Not the midi from today.

Can someone out there give me some pointers, please? I know the first rule is that PT and Midi don't get along. That much I learned years ago...

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2021, 04:40 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,046
Default Re: Midi HELP needed!!!

Not really sure why things are acting odd, but maybe changing your method could help Since you are exporting so you can import to another session, instead of the extra steps to export, followed by import, why not skip the export step, open the session that you want to bring the midi in, and use the Import Session Data function and import the midi(or instrument) track directly from the source session?

Remember that when you export midi, it exports ALL midi in the session(I'm not even sure if its possible to only export some). Using the above suggestion allows you to be more selective on what midi you bring into your new session. Re the old bit of Pro Tools sucking at midi, that's really no longer the case. While it may not be as slick as Logic or "insert DAW name here", its still miles better than it was a few versions back(and it gets better with each major release).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2021, 01:34 PM
BurbankGuy BurbankGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 23
Default Re: Midi HELP needed!!!

Thanks!
I'm relatively self taught on certain aspects of Pro Tools, specially how it handles Midi.

That is a great suggestion.

I thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2021, 04:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,046
Default Re: Midi HELP needed!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BurbankGuy View Post
Thanks!
I'm relatively self taught on certain aspects of Pro Tools, specially how it handles Midi.
As am I
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP needed with MIDI LiteraryLady Windows 2 12-18-2012 09:36 PM
Midi help needed with digi002 no midi at all Floeperd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-31-2010 08:26 AM
Help Needed - Midi JackSummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-04-2007 04:36 AM
Midi help needed... still Bezo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 01-04-2004 08:58 PM
REALLY NEEDED - PT & MIDI edemunari General Discussion 1 10-24-2000 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com