Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2021, 10:36 AM
joepopp joepopp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: NYC, New York USA
Posts: 385
Default Zoom Meeting and Pro Tools 6101 errors?

We are on Pro Tools 2021.3 on Catalina on a brand new Mac Pro 2.7GHz 12-Core with 32GB of Ram.

The system runs great, but when we do Zoom meetings we are getting 6101 errors after 5 or 6 takes.

We've tried different buffer settings and zero plugins and still getting this issue recording just one track against a stereo file for playback.

Any help appreciated!

Last edited by joepopp; 04-16-2021 at 11:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2021, 11:18 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,583
Default Re: Zoom Meeting and Pro Tools 6101 errors?

My preference is to run Zoom on a separate computer(but maybe you can't for some reason). Hopefully, someone else can offer a better solution
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2021, 01:46 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 679
Default Re: Zoom Meeting and Pro Tools 6101 errors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
My preference is to run Zoom on a separate computer(but maybe you can't for some reason). Hopefully, someone else can offer a better solution

How do you share your screen though? I can see why the OP would have a use case for running PT in a Zoom... Perhaps to show or demonstrate via screen sharing. Also, if everyone on the call has their audio ported through their I/O then audio is pretty darn good playing a session as it's coming through the monitors vs computer speakers.

I ran a zoom session last week on PT 2021 with no issues... Perhaps try trashing prefs and all the other usual stuff? Check system resources, could be CPU utilization or buffer size issues. Here is a list from Sweetwater:

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...B&gclsrc=aw.ds
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 11.3.1 Big Sur
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
EuCon 2020.11.10
UA Luna 1.1.6.1974
UAD 9.13.1
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10
HX Edit 3.01

PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2021, 04:19 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,579
Default Re: Zoom Meeting and Pro Tools 6101 errors?

I'm on Windows. I run Zoom - or any other browser app - from and to my onboard soundcard (Realtek) and cable that into and out of my RME UFX to/from Pro Tools, coming from Pro Tools by Pre Fader Sends.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2021, 07:14 AM
joepopp joepopp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: NYC, New York USA
Posts: 385
Default Re: Zoom Meeting and Pro Tools 6101 errors?

Thanks for the reply we did try all of the usual stuff but I guess I could go over it again.

Playback works great but when trying to record we are getting the errors.



Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_g View Post
How do you share your screen though? I can see why the OP would have a use case for running PT in a Zoom... Perhaps to show or demonstrate via screen sharing. Also, if everyone on the call has their audio ported through their I/O then audio is pretty darn good playing a session as it's coming through the monitors vs computer speakers.

I ran a zoom session last week on PT 2021 with no issues... Perhaps try trashing prefs and all the other usual stuff? Check system resources, could be CPU utilization or buffer size issues. Here is a list from Sweetwater:

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...B&gclsrc=aw.ds
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2021, 07:24 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,928
Default Re: Zoom Meeting and Pro Tools 6101 errors?

You don't specify interface or any specifics of the system, but that's a CoreAudio CPU timeout so I'm assuming you're running a native rig. Obvious questions are about buffer settings, actual routing between Pro Tools and Zoom, are they sharing an interface, if so how? etc. I can say fwiw, that I run Zoom sessions alongside Pro Tools on the same system sharing screens and with Audiomovers all day long without issue, so it's certainly possible, though my rig is HDX.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.3 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2021, 08:15 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 467
Default Re: Zoom Meeting and Pro Tools 6101 errors?

Zoom is a known CPU and ram hog. It can take up 50% of your CPU alone. With Pro Tools taking up the other 50% or more you’re going to run into some major CPU overload depending on your type of PT session.

On a 2013 Mac Pro trash can with 64GB of ram I never had any issues running everything on one machine natively, no HDX. This was a simple record session with minimal tracks and plugins.

Your system power and amount of Ram will determine performance when running these two applications together on one machine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-28-2021, 06:42 AM
joepopp joepopp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: NYC, New York USA
Posts: 385
Default Re: Zoom Meeting and Pro Tools 6101 errors?

So after further testing, Logic Pro is having the same exact issue!

Of course there is no error code, but while tracking we are getting horrible digital noise and have to toggle the buffer to get rid of it. It happens every once in a while. In a 4 hour session the issue occurred maybe 4 times.

My thought now is a hardware clocking issue. We have a Big Ben as the master and we are clocking a Yamaha DM2000 and an Apogee Symphony (first gen with a fire bridge).

I will test and report my findings here.

Thanks for all of the advice!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2021, 10:29 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,579
Default Re: Zoom Meeting and Pro Tools 6101 errors?

Further to my post above, when I first started using Zoom with Pro Tools, I got crackling throughout any recording, not just random, but continuous, ruining any take. I was using the Zoom app downloaded to my computer. Once I uninstalled that and only use Zoom through my browser, all issues went away.

Unfortunately, Zoom makes it very difficult to just use it in a browser, they really, really want you to download and install their app. Fortunately, I was able to find an extension called Zoom Redirector and that forces Zoom to open up in my browser directly.

Zoom also requires a minimum sample rate of 48K (and 4 GB of RAM, but I'm sure you have way more than that in your computer).

To be fair, I don't think Zoom or any other browser-based two-way audio app was initially designed to work with a DAW.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Book about Using Pro Tools in a Zoom Meeting EdgarRothermich Tips & Tricks 8 02-11-2021 03:03 PM
Using Zoom meeting and screen sharing PT audio jpriggy Pro Tools 2018 31 11-16-2020 12:55 PM
AAE 6101 Errors -- Pro Tools 2018.4 Reml@P Pro Tools 2018 2 05-21-2018 04:35 PM
AAE 6101 errors. Pro Tools 11 HD. Help! Ke productions Pro Tools 11 4 04-25-2014 11:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com