Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2016, 08:05 PM
watksco watksco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 12
Default PT12.4 latency issue!!

I'm getting huge latency (delay) when I record. Buffer is set to 64 in audio engine...sounds more like 1024!!

i76700 - asus z170-K mobo - windows 7

Is there some settings in windows that I'm missing?

I have a session tomorrow - urgent!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2016, 08:21 PM
watksco watksco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 12
Default Re: PT12.4 latency issue!!

Also, I'm using a 002Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2016, 09:28 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: PT12.4 latency issue!!

sorry but this is so little info to go on, i don't have any idea how you expect us to be able to help you.

Win 7 what service pack? What firewire adapter? Is it a texas instruments chipset? You have your latest mobo bios? Have you tried putting win 7 firewire into legacy driver mode?
and so on! I am sure this is user error of some kind.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2016, 09:28 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 326
Default Re: PT12.4 latency issue!!

Have you got any plugins on the track you're recording on or your master buss?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2016, 09:31 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: PT12.4 latency issue!!

Oh, and you're using the 9.06 002 rack driver right?
http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor...81451.zip?ns=1

that's the latest Win 7 official digi 002 RACK driver

And yes, you might simply have a latent plugin in the signal path, as Led says. I find topics like this so frustrating when the user provides such scarce info.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2016, 09:34 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,424
Default Re: PT12.4 latency issue!!

Hi

What hard drives do you have, speed, make model, do you have any CD in the dvd player slot? Do you have Floppy driver enabled in BIOS even though you don't have a floppy? Very important to check and if you have a floppy controller deactivate that ASAP! Also if you have any USB drive inserted into the computer?

The more info the better we can help. Try those things i mentioned out and post back what you found.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2016, 09:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,545
Default Re: PT12.4 latency issue!!

More thoughts:
In Pro Tools, go to View>Mix Window Shows>check Delay Compensation
Now look across the bottom of the MIX window at the numbers. Top number is latency on that track's plugin(s)(the track with orange numbers has the most). If you see numbers higher than 7-10 samples, plugins on that track are causing latency(make them inactive while tracking to remove the latency)

The middle of those 3 numbers is how much compensation being added so that all tracks will match. The bottom number is the total combined latency or each track(the sum of latency ON that track and added compensation).

If you see numbers that make no sense(and you might), its probably a bug in routing thru AUX tracks. I say its a bug as I was seeing 1900+ samples of compensation in some sessions where the most on any given track was 7 samples. I managed to trace it to an AUX track with a send feeding the same track(send level was all the way down or it would have caused a feedback loop). That was a case of copying sends(Alt-drag) and not paying attention
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2016, 11:14 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: PT12.4 latency issue!!

BTW to the OP, I just noticed you're in melbourne, so if you can't get it fixed and are not too far away, i should be able to catch up with you and fix the issue. But let's hope you fix it by just doing the usual checks. Keep us posted :)
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-06-2016, 03:43 PM
watksco watksco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 12
Default Re: PT12.4 latency issue!!

Thank you all. It was a plug across the drum buss - Slate virtual tape machine. So what's the deal? I had delay compensation checked...and no delay compensation happening? I thought Pro Tools did all the math on that now?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-06-2016, 03:50 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: PT12.4 latency issue!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by watksco View Post
Thank you all. It was a plug across the drum buss - Slate virtual tape machine. So what's the deal? I had delay compensation checked...and no delay compensation happening? I thought Pro Tools did all the math on that now?
Not sure exactly what you are doing (recording drums? or something else? via that bus?) if you are recording though that plugin, well... delay compensation is not time travel, it can't magically go back in real-world time. And some plugins may be reporting latency wrong, etc. you need to troubleshoot by the delay they are showing in the UI and carefully tracing out the bussing and thinking about what signals are being recorded.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low latency monitoring, no sound in PT12,help?! mhellerofficial Pro Tools 12 12 09-12-2017 09:59 AM
PT12 Commit Tracks Issue pyrmont25 Pro Tools 12 0 02-29-2016 02:54 AM
PT12, Windows 10, Mbox 2 PRO issue albee1952 Pro Tools 12 3 11-13-2015 03:34 PM
Low latency not selectable in PT12 in Xpand EarthGuest Pro Tools 12 0 11-06-2015 08:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com