Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2015, 01:05 PM
jackorion jackorion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default Temperamental iLok - licence transfer question!

Hi there,

My first post here...

I have Pro Tools 10 and over the past few weeks, my iLok 2 device has been temperamental - it flashes blue when first inserted, and then I manage to get it working via the iLok License Manager... and then often it will simply stop working mid-session. Pretty frustrating, especially as it's only seen relatively light use over the past few years.

I'm sure very soon it will stop working altogether.

I'm wondering if I buy a brand new iLok, whether this procedure will work with the Pro Tools (educational) licence I have:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dwev1XaGoX8

(Obviously my old iLok will need to still be working for the transfer)

I'm in the UK and gather the only alternative is to send this broken one back to iLok / Pace in the States. So the above is hopefully a quicker option.

Many thanks in advance for any help or advice.

J.O.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2015, 08:44 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Temperamental iLok - licence transfer question!

I can't listen to that guy but yes you can move your license(s) from your iLok to the server then back to another iLok when you get it.

if you're constantly inserting and removing your iLok get a short USB cable to take the ware and tare of constant insertion and removal

but also check your USB power management that the port is not getting turned off
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2015, 02:19 AM
jackorion jackorion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default Re: Temperamental iLok - licence transfer question!

Thanks Craig, I've just ordered my replacement iLok.

Great tip about getting a USB extension too - I'm using this with a laptop, so it is being inserted / removed whenever it's being used.

Your help is appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2015, 02:44 AM
jackorion jackorion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default Re: Temperamental iLok - licence transfer question!

Just a quick follow up, should anyone stumble upon this thread in the future...

New iLok arrived (alongside 12cm USB extension), and I transferred the licence easily, using the iLok licence manager software. All working fine. About £30 (GBP) for the new iLok.

Glad I made the move before the old iLok packed up altogether! Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLOK broken, transfer license to good iLok question Jay Terrien Windows 12 09-18-2012 05:12 PM
[HELP] Can't Transfer ProTools10 Licence to My iLok (unDetect iLok) :( nmstudio Windows 5 10-25-2011 03:10 AM
Can anyone help on Ilok licence transfer question (HD) vsukpadman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-12-2011 01:35 AM
MPT 1, iLok licence transfer Nezecus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-12-2010 09:56 AM
Can you transfer an autotune ilok licence? audioluche Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-05-2006 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com