Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2000, 08:51 AM
Kris Kris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: TLH, FL, USA
Posts: 202
Default Saving dsp resources... Mute frees voice?

I'm wondering... (sorry haven't had time to browse the manual or experiment using allocator on this yet)... Does the number of tracks effect DSP use or the number of voices, or both?
I'm trying to slim down my DSP use on some songs and am wondering if I assign some tracks to the same voice and use mute frees voice, will I be conserving and/or saving dsp resources in this way.
thanks.
__________________
My studio: http://www.logcabinmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2000, 12:29 AM
Sean Halley Sean Halley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles,CA, USA
Posts: 447
Default Re: Saving dsp resources... Mute frees voice?

Your track count should be more tied to the platter speed of your hard drive, and the amount of data it can send a second via the connection....


Sean H
__________________
"it's not about making the changes, it's about playing ideas in time"

Scofield...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2000, 07:48 PM
meshtheflesh meshtheflesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Singapore
Posts: 233
Default Re: Saving dsp resources... Mute frees voice?

It's not just drive speed. The more tracks you have, the more DSP is used by the mixer. This goes for auxs' and sends.

Cheer
Ramesh www.songzu.com
__________________
----------------------------
Ramesh Sathiah
www.songzu.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mutes frees Voices -ProTools 9 Native? Reitzas Pro Tools 9 2 01-29-2011 01:45 PM
Mute Frees Assigned Voice - question Dopamine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-11-2008 02:52 AM
Mute Frees Assigned Voice save bug RIO Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-09-2006 12:10 PM
Why does "mute frees assigned voices" go away? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 2 09-19-2005 10:41 AM
Mute Frees Voice Please tha k man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 06-23-2003 06:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com