Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2020, 06:42 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 968
Default MTRX Studio i/o

I realise its early days to get specs on this new box as it was only first shown at Namm, but does anyone know what the maximum simultaneous number of ins and outs is?
I found a spec sheet on Avid's site which tells you the formats of i/o but not the max number.
For instance if I wanted to run 12 speakers on the analogue outs and also loop 12 channels through the Adat ports to a Trinnov simultaneously, can it do that?
I know it has its own speaker correction built in, but I like the Trinnov.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 12.7.3, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2023.12
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2020, 08:54 AM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 143
Default Re: MTRX Studio i/o

I don't think this would be an issue. You've got plenty of control between the DADman software and PT I/O. I feel like this is the ethos to the MTRX product line...routing.
__________________
• MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 96GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC Mercury Elite Pro Quad, USB 3.0, eSATA
• PT HD|Native 2024.3 on macOS 12.7.4 (OpenCore Patcher 1.4.3 on Crucial SSD)
• Avid Dock, iPad 7th gen & EuCon 2023.11
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series
• MTRX Studio // 7.1.4

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2020, 12:57 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,223
Default Re: MTRX Studio i/o

The MTRX (and since the Studio uses DADman, appears to be the same) you can use all ins and outs simultaneously (you just route them in DADman.) No restrictions. The communication to Pro Tools (which is just another in/out) is limited to 64 i/o because of the two mini-digilink connectors.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface Pro • S1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 • Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6 • RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core • QNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2020, 05:50 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 968
Default Re: MTRX Studio i/o

Sounds great.
Thanks for the info guys, it looks like a pretty amazing box!
Shame they didn't put any AES on it as that's still the basis of my setup.
But nothing that a converter box can't solve.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 12.7.3, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2023.12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2020, 06:42 AM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 143
Default Re: MTRX Studio i/o

No AES is a negative for me too but I plan to keep my 192 in the chain for that reason. I'll probably hang the MTRX off one port and the 192 on the other.
__________________
• MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 96GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC Mercury Elite Pro Quad, USB 3.0, eSATA
• PT HD|Native 2024.3 on macOS 12.7.4 (OpenCore Patcher 1.4.3 on Crucial SSD)
• Avid Dock, iPad 7th gen & EuCon 2023.11
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series
• MTRX Studio // 7.1.4

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2020, 08:55 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 968
Default Re: MTRX Studio i/o

Good plan, that would solve some issues.
Adat is a weird choice for the MTRX Studio, I thought that was pretty much end of life as an interface?
It can't even do 192k can it and although I don't use 192k a lot, its nice to have the option for sound design.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 12.7.3, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2023.12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2020, 09:15 AM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 143
Default Re: MTRX Studio i/o

I thought so too. I've used ADAT to link a secondary rig into PT but rarely. I'd be inclined to believe it was probably easier to squeeze optical connections onto the board versus AES due to the lack of real estate. It is just 1RU after all, which is impressive given what it can do. There is a void above the Digilink connectors that seems like you could wedge a DB-25 but I won't hold my breath.
__________________
• MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 96GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC Mercury Elite Pro Quad, USB 3.0, eSATA
• PT HD|Native 2024.3 on macOS 12.7.4 (OpenCore Patcher 1.4.3 on Crucial SSD)
• Avid Dock, iPad 7th gen & EuCon 2023.11
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series
• MTRX Studio // 7.1.4

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2021, 03:27 PM
Arichlsss Arichlsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: MTRX Studio i/o

I hope to run an HD i/o in to the secondary Digilink port to use the aes in the HD I/O as AES 4ch in and out to trinnov st2 pro. Then use dadman as the monitor controller with a Avid Dock and Ipad.

Anyone one know if this should work well?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2021, 05:15 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,223
Default Re: MTRX Studio i/o

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arichlsss View Post
I hope to run an HD i/o in to the secondary Digilink port to use the aes in the HD I/O as AES 4ch in and out to trinnov st2 pro. Then use dadman as the monitor controller with a Avid Dock and Ipad.
DADman only controls inputs/outputs on MTRX and MTRX studio.
It does not talk to or bridge the HD I/O.
If you keep Pro Tools always open, you can bridge the audio signal from the HD I/O to the MTRX studio through Pro Tools (which would mean keeping a Pro Tools session open too).

In essence, the Trinnov would be an insert on the output master going to the MTRX Studio's outputs (where speakers are hooked up)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface Pro • S1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 • Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6 • RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core • QNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-21-2021, 08:17 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 968
Default Re: MTRX Studio i/o

I ended up getting an RME ADI 4 second hand to loop the Trinnov through the Adat ports on the MTRX Studio.


I'm currently using the converters and monitoring on the Trinnov rather than the MTRX Studio.


I'd be interested to hear what people think of the converters on the Studio as to my ears the Trinnov ones seem a bit better?
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 12.7.3, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2023.12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX-> HDX or MTRX->Dante ArmyofLight Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 34 04-08-2021 04:51 PM
FS: MTRX 2x 8 Line Input Pristine Card 1x MTRX SPQ Card antonis Buy & Sell 9 04-11-2020 06:47 AM
MTRX Studio - No AES?! Ryan Young Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 23 02-23-2020 02:13 PM
HD I/O with MTRX Artis Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 10 07-04-2019 10:01 AM
MTRX antonis Post - Surround - Video 2 10-26-2016 12:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com