Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2010, 06:56 AM
Nathanael81 Nathanael81 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Badenweiler, Germany
Posts: 15
Post Sends in Low Latency Mode [Pro Tools LE]

Hey Guys,

I have got a question concerning Pro Tools LE (Digi 003 Rack)

I want to do a recording and somehow find a way to get around the fact that low latency mode is disabling all inserts and sends, which actually is 2 Questions.

1. is it possible to ma an extra headphone mix with Protools LE within the low latency mode and make this mix come out through 2 different channels of the 003 Rack?

2. how is it possible to give the singer Reverb on his Vocals by using a plugin. Everybody knowing LE will know what I'm talking about. As soon as I switch to Low Latency Mode all inserts or sends will be disabled as soon as I activate the track for record.

The thing is that LE comes around with a couple of templates and there is some of them which have Reverb on the track I want to record to, even though Low Latency mode is switched on. I trued to figure out the routing of those presets, but I could not figure out how it was done, since they where rather complicated.

Can anybody give me a tip or explain what I need to do if I want to create one of those recording sessions from scratch that enable me to get Reverb for the Track that gets recorded???

Many thanks in advance,
Nathanael

Last edited by Nathanael81; 07-02-2010 at 07:03 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2010, 07:17 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Sends in Low Latency Mode [Pro Tools LE]

Long question for a short answer..

U can not hav sends or plugs on a recorded track(meaning while ur recording of course) with LLM on; not knowin what ur comp is, I can't say run @ 64buffer but thatz what most do or even 128 which will allow u to not use LLM; I hadn't used LLM in several yrs on my LE rig...

& u can use other outs on the rack to do headphones mixes, leave or use verbs, all the sends
u want, but LLM MUST be off'eim...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2010, 07:54 AM
Nathanael81 Nathanael81 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Badenweiler, Germany
Posts: 15
Default Re: Sends in Low Latency Mode [Pro Tools LE]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keybeeetsss View Post
Long question for a short answer..

U can not hav sends or plugs on a recorded track(meaning while ur recording of course) with LLM on; not knowin what ur comp is, I can't say run @ 64buffer but thatz what most do or even 128 which will allow u to not use LLM; I hadn't used LLM in several yrs on my LE rig...

& u can use other outs on the rack to do headphones mixes, leave or use verbs, all the sends
u want, but LLM MUST be off'eim...
ok thanks man I'll give it a try!

but what about this one:
Quote:
The thing is that LE comes around with a couple of templates and there is some of them which have Reverb on the track I want to record to, even though Low Latency mode is switched on. I trued to figure out the routing of those presets, but I could not figure out how it was done, since they where rather complicated.
???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2010, 08:04 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,368
Default Re: Sends in Low Latency Mode [Pro Tools LE]

You are going to have to break down and spend some time reading the manual and viewing some tutorial videos as this stuff is actually pretty basic(signal routing 101). If you search youtube for PRO TOOLS, it will turn up lots of videos to help you learn lots of good stuff.

Having a computer potent enough to work at the 64 buffer setting solves all the LLM problems.
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2010, 08:06 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,641
Default Re: Sends in Low Latency Mode [Pro Tools LE]

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post

Having a computer potent enough to work at the 64 buffer setting solves all the LLM problems.
+1... This is the way it is best handled.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid Latency on Sends EarHole Post - Surround - Video 10 07-10-2008 04:49 PM
why do sends time out in touch mode??????? Pedro perez ICON & C|24 1 05-06-2008 09:38 AM
trim mode on sends? tomlowd ICON & C|24 3 06-26-2007 07:38 PM
trim mode on sends Steve MacMillan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-14-2007 08:35 PM
Sends and latency copper ICON & C|24 1 07-07-2003 11:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com