Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2010, 09:32 AM
robo6675 robo6675 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 284
Default Noisy 192 input card

I've got a noisy input card on one of my 192's. Even when there is no DB25 cable plugged into it, 2 inputs consistently hiss and pop. I've tried working the ribbon cable connections and I can see no obvious flaws on the card.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
MacBook Pro (silver) 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 GB RAM - 10.6.6 - PT9 - 003 BLA sig mod
Terrarium
HD3 Accel on a PowerPC - OS 10.5.7 - PTHD 8.0cs2
(3)192/SYNC IO/CS HEDD192/Studer A27/Neve 48 Ch. VR console
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2010, 10:22 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,128
Default Re: Noisy 192 input card

Sounds like the card needs replacing.

Is this a brand new card, or have you been using it for a while?

If the latter, is your 192 well vented? They do not like closed-side racks I have found, as they vent from right to left. Any constriction to air flow can cause the unit to overheat, and once the AD or DA card overheats it can start exhibiting the anomalies you describe. It will then need to be replaced.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2010, 10:32 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Noisy 192 input card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
Sounds like the card needs replacing.

Is this a brand new card, or have you been using it for a while?

If the latter, is your 192 well vented? They do not like closed-side racks I have found, as they vent from right to left. Any constriction to air flow can cause the unit to overheat, and once the AD or DA card overheats it can start exhibiting the anomalies you describe. It will then need to be replaced.
the AVID exchange program is fairly affordable

might as well get it over with

i put mine off for a long time and sure was glad i got my input #4 back
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2010, 10:52 AM
robo6675 robo6675 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 284
Default Re: Noisy 192 input card

Yeah, they have had regular use for for a couple years now. And your probably right about the ventilation. It has blockage on one side. Right to left from which perspective?

Well what is broken, must be fixed...how do I go about this AVID exchange program?

Thanks for the replies guys.
__________________
MacBook Pro (silver) 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 GB RAM - 10.6.6 - PT9 - 003 BLA sig mod
Terrarium
HD3 Accel on a PowerPC - OS 10.5.7 - PTHD 8.0cs2
(3)192/SYNC IO/CS HEDD192/Studer A27/Neve 48 Ch. VR console
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2010, 11:42 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Noisy 192 input card

Quote:
Originally Posted by robo6675 View Post
Yeah, they have had regular use for for a couple years now. And your probably right about the ventilation. It has blockage on one side. Right to left from which perspective?

Well what is broken, must be fixed...how do I go about this AVID exchange program?

Thanks for the replies guys.
call tech support
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2010, 06:16 PM
robo6675 robo6675 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 284
Default Re: Noisy 192 input card

oh that'll be fun...=)
__________________
MacBook Pro (silver) 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 GB RAM - 10.6.6 - PT9 - 003 BLA sig mod
Terrarium
HD3 Accel on a PowerPC - OS 10.5.7 - PTHD 8.0cs2
(3)192/SYNC IO/CS HEDD192/Studer A27/Neve 48 Ch. VR console
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2010, 07:36 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Noisy 192 input card

Quote:
Originally Posted by robo6675 View Post
oh that'll be fun...=)
oh they'll be happy to take your dough.
i wonder if the HD cards are back-ordered that an exchange plan takes long now
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2010, 07:10 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,128
Default Re: Noisy 192 input card

Quote:
Originally Posted by robo6675 View Post
SNIP... And your probably right about the ventilation. It has blockage on one side. Right to left from which perspective?
When viewed from the front of the unit.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2010, 07:15 AM
robo6675 robo6675 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 284
Default Re: Noisy 192 input card

Ah yes, it is definitely blocked on the right side.

Thanks for the input guys! This is what the DUC is all about.
__________________
MacBook Pro (silver) 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 GB RAM - 10.6.6 - PT9 - 003 BLA sig mod
Terrarium
HD3 Accel on a PowerPC - OS 10.5.7 - PTHD 8.0cs2
(3)192/SYNC IO/CS HEDD192/Studer A27/Neve 48 Ch. VR console
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-2010, 01:02 PM
robo6675 robo6675 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 284
Default Re: Noisy 192 input card

Hey guys, another questions on this topic...

I found the digi tech support number but I really don't want to pay 2.50/minute for them to confirm that the card is bad. Anyone know of a more direct way to inquire how much it would cost to get it exchanged?

FYI this is way past warranty and I have no idea if it was registered as it was installed a couple years before I even started working at this facility.
__________________
MacBook Pro (silver) 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 GB RAM - 10.6.6 - PT9 - 003 BLA sig mod
Terrarium
HD3 Accel on a PowerPC - OS 10.5.7 - PTHD 8.0cs2
(3)192/SYNC IO/CS HEDD192/Studer A27/Neve 48 Ch. VR console
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digidesign 192 Analog Input Card and Analog output Card for Sale MusicEngineer Buy & Sell 1 03-03-2014 09:03 AM
192 AD Expansion Card Noisy Channels dexter808 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 03-22-2007 01:44 PM
Noisy input fix? Help a n00b with a session! tdellaringa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-04-2006 06:46 AM
External talkback mic input low level and noisy nerdlinger ICON & C|24 2 08-24-2005 02:27 AM
Sound Card Input, HELP!! DigiCharles Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 11-24-2000 12:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com