Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2008, 11:09 AM
EarHole EarHole is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 877
Default Stupid Latency on Sends

I just mixed an hour long program with all the sfx tracks routed to a track to print all the music, v/o and sfx as well as the mix at the same time.
Because of the latency on the sends the volume automation is delayed resulting in a loud burst at the head some of the sfx that were brought way down. Now I need to redo them.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2008, 02:19 PM
espron espron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 329
Default Re: Stupid Latency on Sends

Just out of curiosity: why are you using sends to achieve this? Would it not be better to use multiple output paths to feed the various stem record inputs? I do this all the time and have never had the issues you are describing.

All the best

Espen
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2008, 02:34 PM
TheHenchman TheHenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 544
Default Re: Stupid Latency on Sends

Quote:
Just out of curiosity: why are you using sends to achieve this? Would it not be better to use multiple output paths to feed the various stem record inputs? I do this all the time and have never had the issues you are describing.

All the best

Espen
Absolutely.
In fact the way I do it is senf the tracks to their respective stems, and the stems to the Final Mix, instead of double-bussing to stems and full-mix.
__________________
www.markhensley.tv

IMDB Credits
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2008, 04:38 PM
EarHole EarHole is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 877
Default Re: Stupid Latency on Sends

Well here's what I did...

I took all of the main outs of my SFX tracks and route the to an Aux track so I can control the over all level
with one fader. The main out directed to a bus "PrintMix".
Then I route a send out to a buss on the aux track as well that routes to a "PrintSFX" bus.


Then I created an Audio track with the Input directed to "PrintMix" (FullMix)
Then I created an Audio track with the Input directed to "PrintSFX" (SFX Stem)

I put both Audio tracks into record and print the Mix & Stem at the same time.

I don't normally do such long projects so I was trying to make it easy and do it all in one pass.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2008, 04:47 PM
TheHenchman TheHenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 544
Default Re: Stupid Latency on Sends

Quote:
Well here's what I did...

I took all of the main outs of my SFX tracks and route the to an Aux track so I can control the over all level
with one fader. The main out directed to a bus "PrintMix".
Then I route a send out to a buss on the aux track as well that routes to a "PrintSFX" bus.


Then I created an Audio track with the Input directed to "PrintMix" (FullMix)
Then I created an Audio track with the Input directed to "PrintSFX" (SFX Stem)

I put both Audio tracks into record and print the Mix & Stem at the same time.

I don't normally do such long projects so I was trying to make it easy and do it all in one pass.
No, you've done it a bit backwards, IMO.
Create a SFX Aux and a SFX Stem Record.
Send all the SFX to the SFX Aux master, and the output of that Master to the input of the SFX Stem Record.
You do the same for Dialog and music.
Now, you send the output of all those Stems to the input of the Full-Mix record track.

Done.
__________________
www.markhensley.tv

IMDB Credits
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2008, 05:05 PM
EarHole EarHole is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 877
Default Re: Stupid Latency on Sends

Quote:
Quote:
Well here's what I did...

I took all of the main outs of my SFX tracks and route the to an Aux track so I can control the over all level
with one fader. The main out directed to a bus "PrintMix".
Then I route a send out to a buss on the aux track as well that routes to a "PrintSFX" bus.


Then I created an Audio track with the Input directed to "PrintMix" (FullMix)
Then I created an Audio track with the Input directed to "PrintSFX" (SFX Stem)

I put both Audio tracks into record and print the Mix & Stem at the same time.

I don't normally do such long projects so I was trying to make it easy and do it all in one pass.
No, you've done it a bit backwards, IMO.
Create a SFX Aux and a SFX Stem Record.
Send all the SFX to the SFX Aux master, and the output of that Master to the input of the SFX Stem Record.
You do the same for Dialog and music.
Now, you send the output of all those Stems to the input of the Full-Mix record track.

Done.
Then how would I Limit the mix to ensure my final output doesn't push beyond a certain level.
Specs ask for -6db maximum.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-08-2008, 09:22 AM
TheHenchman TheHenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 544
Default Re: Stupid Latency on Sends

Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Well here's what I did...

I took all of the main outs of my SFX tracks and route the to an Aux track so I can control the over all level
with one fader. The main out directed to a bus "PrintMix".
Then I route a send out to a buss on the aux track as well that routes to a "PrintSFX" bus.


Then I created an Audio track with the Input directed to "PrintMix" (FullMix)
Then I created an Audio track with the Input directed to "PrintSFX" (SFX Stem)

I put both Audio tracks into record and print the Mix & Stem at the same time.

I don't normally do such long projects so I was trying to make it easy and do it all in one pass.
No, you've done it a bit backwards, IMO.
Create a SFX Aux and a SFX Stem Record.
Send all the SFX to the SFX Aux master, and the output of that Master to the input of the SFX Stem Record.
You do the same for Dialog and music.
Now, you send the output of all those Stems to the input of the Full-Mix record track.

Done.
Then how would I Limit the mix to ensure my final output doesn't push beyond a certain level.
Specs ask for -6db maximum.
Well, I put limiters on my main auxes, SFX, Dialog and Music.
But just as with the stem auxes, you can create a Master Mix aux that you don't touch, send all your Stem outs to that first, put an L1 on it, and send the output of THAT to the FullMix stem record track.
__________________
www.markhensley.tv

IMDB Credits
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-08-2008, 09:35 AM
EarHole EarHole is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 877
Default Re: Stupid Latency on Sends

Quote:

Well, I put limiters on my main auxes, SFX, Dialog and Music.
But just as with the stem auxes, you can create a Master Mix aux that you don't touch, send all your Stem outs to that first, put an L1 on it, and send the output of THAT to the FullMix stem record track.

I'll give it a try but it sounds even more complicated then my way. Does DC adjust for all the delays of going through
the chain?

Let me see if I get this right:
Tracks routed to Stem aux, Aux routed to Print Stem audio Tracks,
Print Stem Audio Tracks routed to Mix Aux, Mix Aux routed to Print Mix Audio Track.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-08-2008, 10:13 AM
TheHenchman TheHenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 544
Default Re: Stupid Latency on Sends

Quote:
Quote:

Well, I put limiters on my main auxes, SFX, Dialog and Music.
But just as with the stem auxes, you can create a Master Mix aux that you don't touch, send all your Stem outs to that first, put an L1 on it, and send the output of THAT to the FullMix stem record track.

I'll give it a try but it sounds even more complicated then my way. Does DC adjust for all the delays of going through
the chain?

Let me see if I get this right:
Tracks routed to Stem aux, Aux routed to Print Stem audio Tracks,
Print Stem Audio Tracks routed to Mix Aux, Mix Aux routed to Print Mix Audio Track.
Once you set up a mix template with that routing, you don't have to worry about it again.
And using auxe, as you now know, can result in nasty surprises.
__________________
www.markhensley.tv

IMDB Credits
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-08-2008, 12:28 PM
EarHole EarHole is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 877
Default Re: Stupid Latency on Sends

Thanks for the advice... I'll try your way next time and see how that works.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sends in Low Latency Mode [Pro Tools LE] Nathanael81 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-02-2010 08:06 AM
Sends Inactive w/ Low Latency Monitoring paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-30-2009 03:46 PM
Sends and latency copper ICON & C|24 1 07-07-2003 11:23 AM
Stupid question, what do you use sends for? saittam Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 02-17-2003 03:50 AM
output sends and low-latency montoring pkcraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 11-12-2002 02:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com