Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2005, 08:45 AM
Blindman13 Blindman13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 75
Default Noisy Mac- Please help

My Mac is so freaking noisy. I have a Mackie 1402, all my outboard gear going into that. then out from that to 1 & 2 into my 002r. Out from the 002 to my monitors, and the volume of the monitors controlled my the monitor knob on the front of the 002r. I have a g5, dual 1.8 , 1 gig of RAM, OS 10.3.7. I have the analog out of the mac into the 1402 for like iTunes and stuff. BUT, I have unpluged everything and I still get this squelching static. When I move the mouse, it intensifies, when I open an app, it goes away as the app boots up, then come back. When I plug headphones into the 002r headphone jack, I hear no static. but with my monitors, static. Like I said, I have unpluged everything and it is still there, I have not unpluged the firewire cable from the 002r. I made sure I had no loops, I have tried ground loop isolators, everything, cant figure it out. Does anyone think its a grounding issue? is something lose inside the mac? this is driving me nuts. please help....its unbearable. I am up to date with firmware also.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2005, 12:33 PM
Blindman13 Blindman13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 75
Default Re: Noisy Mac- Please help

Thanks Rob,
after looking around, I heard there was/is a problem with the 1.8 g5s and the Power Suply making noise. Nobody seems to have fixed this. Even with new power supplies from Apple. I will try everything you said though..couldnt hurt..and let you know how it goes. Thanks for all your help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2005, 12:41 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: Noisy Mac- Please help

Hi,

Make sure you are using balanced TRS cables on the output of the 002 to the Mackie. You may want to try lifting the ground on your mixer to see if it makes a difference. You should also check out theses Abase articles. They come up if you search for G5 noise.

ID 28157

ID 27612

ID 27611

ID 27493

Thanks,
Digidesign Tech Support
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noisy 192 IO (s) Epik Productions Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 25 05-31-2011 07:14 AM
Just got my 11R, noisy... huh? MyerzMedia Eleven Rack 14 03-27-2011 03:01 PM
noisy noisy help please cpoulin2000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-28-2006 03:36 PM
What to do with NOISY G4? 5108 Music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-24-2003 06:12 PM
Noisy HUI Daniel_Dettwiler Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 01-05-2000 09:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com