Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-16-2007, 03:20 PM

Default Better way to Separate Regions?

Hi, I'm new to editing in ProTools and was wondering if there was a better way to split up regions then to use the Separate command. Doing it that way creates alot of unused regions that I need to go and delete than manually rename the regions I'm using.

So for example I have a region named LeadGtr_01-01 and I Separate it I get two new regions named LeadGtr_01-02 and LeadGtr_01-03, in it's place. I understand why normally this would be what you want, but since I'm breaking up a whole take into a bunch of continuous regions i'd like to have the first piece retain the original region name (LeadGtr_01-01) and have the new split get the next name (LeadGtr_01-02).

Are there any option that I over looked to do this, or perhaps another way to split the regions up? I haven't used Split on Transients, because that would give me alot of extra regions. While looking for an answer on the forum, I saw that there is an Auto-Rename feature, but I didn't see it (thought I probably looked right at it), and from what I read it doesn't work that well.

I'm about to try to comp a some vocal takes together and would like to avoid having to manually rename 120+ regions.

I hope this makes sense, if not I can try to explain it better. Thanks.
Old 07-16-2007, 08:56 PM

Default Re: Better way to Separate Regions?