Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-02-2022, 09:22 AM

Default Pro Tools Education and commercial use

Before purchasing, I checked all of AVID’s store pages, FAQs, support sites, and forums about commercial use for education purchases of Pro Tools and AVID never stated otherwise. I made sure that it was the right license. It was only until after I bought it I saw one line in the EULA that says education is for non-commercial use but Avid is very vague and doesn’t describe what it means. What if I’m a student or graduate and I get a summer internship and use it there, or if I mix songs for my friends, or make YouTube videos and have monetization or create songs for an album I’m working on or something, are these things not OK to do in the education license? Does AVID understand the needs of students and are lenient towards these situations since they use Pro Tools for many different reasons and it’s description is vague, or is AVID very strict and will revoke my license of Pro Tools immediately at any time? I hope someone from AVID can tell me, I tried contacting support but to no avail.

Edit: This issue was solved, update below.

Last edited by Xas; 05-03-2022 at 03:10 PM.
Old 05-02-2022, 09:56 AM

Default Re: Pro Tools Education and commercial use

(A) You won’t get a refund. They just don’t.
(B) If I understand it correctly, you get the discount because you’re a student (or in my case, an adjunct professor.)