Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2004, 09:10 AM
Dallas Taylor Dallas Taylor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 321
Default Production Sound - Wireless

Obviously, this is not a Pro Tools related question, but this is the most "educated" audio forum out there.

Is there a standard piece of wireless equipment to send my stereo output of my field mixer to the camera? Something that easy "fits" on the camera, is battery operated on both ends, and works aesthetically in a run'n'gun environment? I haven't been able to find much information on this subject.

Thanks for your help!

Dallas
__________________

DALLAS TAYLOR CAS/MPSE
/// Sound Designer/Mixer @ Defacto \\\ Twitter Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2004, 11:25 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,383
Default Re: Production Sound - Wireless

http://www.zaxcom.com/audio/engrec.shtml
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2004, 12:40 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Production Sound - Wireless

For future ref.

Trew Audio

and

Coffey Sound



mmmmmm coffee
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2004, 03:10 PM
philper philper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: ALbany CA USA
Posts: 982
Default Re: Production Sound - Wireless

We use standard DC-powerable wireless gear for this, the same as
you'd use to mic an actor. The difference is that you have to configure
your rig to feed the TX what it wants level wise, and you have to figure
out a way to attach the RX to the camera. There are many different schemes
for doing this with the various brands and models of RX out there.
Zaxcom has a newish system that allows two TX/RX within a single
unit, and the user feedback has been mostly positive. They are,
however, quite expensive, esp. in relation to the price of a small
DV camera. On pro video cameras there is a DC tap on the back
that can allow powering of the RX from the camera's battery.

Philip Perkins CAS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2004, 09:08 AM
howlco howlco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: vancouver bc canada
Posts: 63
Default Re: Production Sound - Wireless

If your using a Sony PD-150 or a DVX-100 or like Camera try the "JimmyBox" it attaches under your camera with tripod screw (the tripod plate attaches to the bottom of the Jimmybox) and is a little metal box that will hold your wirelesss reciever.HTH ... Don
__________________
Protools 9.02 - 002 digirack - mbp quadcore i7 - 27 i7 iMac
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
contaminated production sound smcbert Post - Surround - Video 12 02-04-2014 02:43 AM
Wireless internet effecting sound.... Jak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-16-2006 06:17 AM
Overseas Production Sound Schatzi Post - Surround - Video 3 09-21-2004 09:48 AM
Tool's Sound and Production Chuck5021 Tips & Tricks 1 06-09-2003 11:08 AM
transfering production sound into PT anders Tips & Tricks 0 05-06-2000 06:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com