Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2008, 08:54 AM
AdamKurutz AdamKurutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default Problems in pt le 7.4.2 when using external effect

Hello ,

Im using PT LE 7.4.2 on iMac 20 with Mbox 2.Today I tried to compress a track already recorded in PT,with my HW compressor.
So I set up a new audio track so I can record back the compressed signal I recieve.
I went LR Mbox2 out to comp,then LR Comp Out to Mbox2 In.
I routed the audio track as "In 1-2 and Out 1-2".
I hit record and then horrible noise started peaking in the track.When I un-recordenabled the track,the noise dissapeared.
It has nothing to do with the compressor,becasue i tried to do this without the compressor switched on - result the same.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you ,

AK
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2008, 09:06 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,110
Default Re: Problems in pt le 7.4.2 when using external effect

It's a feedback loop (howl round). You'd need an interface with more I/O to do this safely.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2008, 10:50 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Problems in pt le 7.4.2 when using external effect

You can do this, you just have to mute the track you're recording to (thus not really being able to monitor what you're processing).
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I use external effect boxes? Omega17 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-15-2006 08:02 PM
External Effect as Insert Cayce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-04-2005 03:27 AM
External Effect question studio4610 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-13-2005 12:27 AM
Using external effect Frans G 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-24-2004 07:53 PM
external effect out of phase sssoundsss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-28-2004 04:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com