Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-30-2017, 02:13 PM

Default Routing Question

Hey guys,

Got a question about routing.
I have all my tracks and auxes and what not routed to an aux call PRINT I do all my 2 bus processing there.
Print goes out into another aux I call WRITE which I use to record the whole mix onto a track.
And then I have my usual master fader.

For some reason both PRINT and WRITE peak a -0.1 which is the ceiling on my limiter, yet my master fader goes over up to around 3 at some point. I have attached a screenshot from my buses.

FWIW my session is a 48k which I read somewhere might cause the overs which makes absolutely no sense to me.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 4.03.26 PM.jpg (49.7 KB, 0 views)
Old 11-30-2017, 02:51 PM

Default Re: Routing Question

Something else might be outputting to Mon 1-2. When you mute the WRITE aux, is there still meter movement on Master 1?
Old 11-30-2017, 06:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReverbHead View Post
Hey guys,

Got a question about routing.
I have all my tracks and auxes and what not routed to an aux call PRINT I do all my 2 bus processing there.
Print goes out into another aux I call WRITE which I use to record the whole mix onto a track.
And then I have my usual master fader.

For some reason both PRINT and WRITE peak a -0.1 which is the ceiling on my limiter, yet my master fader goes over up to around 3 at some point. I have attached a screenshot from my buses.

FWIW my session is a 48k which I read somewhere might cause the overs which makes absolutely no sense to me.

Thanks
You could uncomplicate things, dropping that second aux and master fader and go right from your first 2-bus aux to the audio track.