Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2020, 07:51 PM
Goombot Goombot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 332
Default MTRX Studio with Dante PciE card

If I got a Focusrite PCie Dante card would that add 128 channels of Dante to my 64 with the MTRX Studio or would I just have a total of 128 channels? Also, if I wanted to get more than 128 channels with a MTRX Studio (with buying a card) is there a way to do that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2020, 08:07 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,445
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Dante PciE card

Are you talking about using with your HDX system? If so you need to connect your IO through Digilink on the HDX, not other ways. So with a MTRX studio you have up to 64 Dante IO. The normal way to expand this would be adding a MTRX. You need to make sure you have as many HDX cards as needed to give you the needed Digilink IO connectivity.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-27-2020 at 08:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2020, 12:19 PM
Goombot Goombot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 332
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Dante PciE card

I have an HD Native system running PT Ultimate with the MTRX Studio via Dante. So no HDX cards. I just want to see how many Dante channels I can run max with this setup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2020, 02:14 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,445
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Dante PciE card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goombot View Post
I have an HD Native system running PT Ultimate with the MTRX Studio via Dante. So no HDX cards. I just want to see how many Dante channels I can run max with this setup.
This is confusing, you really need to clearly describe what you are trying to do when asking questions like this.

If you are using the MTRX Studio via Dante you do not have a "HD Native" systems, any installed HD native card is doing nothing, and Dante will be your playback engine. And in that case Pro Tools Ultimate (and standard) is limited to 32 IO. And if so why are you posting this question to the HD Native/HDX Forum area?

If you are going to the MTRX Studio vi Digilink to then access Dante on a HD Native system you are limited to a total of 64 IO (single HDN card, two digilink port limitation), getting more than that requires HDX and say adding a MTRX.

Is there is more to this question, like will you want DADman routing to work with the final setup?

I'm not sure what the HD X in your profile is supposed to mean, you might want to update that.

I suspect you will be best served by calling a sales rep at Sweetwater or Vintage King and describing to them what you exactly have today and are trying to do.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2020, 02:18 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 2,027
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Dante PciE card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goombot View Post
I have an HD Native system running PT Ultimate with the MTRX Studio via Dante. So no HDX cards. I just want to see how many Dante channels I can run max with this setup.
64 Dante channels is the maximum the MTRX Studio supports. If you use all 64 channels for Dante you’ll have no analogue or ADAT I/O though. The 64 channels are shared between the analogue I/O, ADAT I/O and Dante ports and you can freely assign what inputs/outputs you want up to a total of 64 channels.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2021, 03:08 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 210
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Dante PciE card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
64 Dante channels is the maximum the MTRX Studio supports. If you use all 64 channels for Dante you’ll have no analogue or ADAT I/O though. The 64 channels are shared between the analogue I/O, ADAT I/O and Dante ports and you can freely assign what inputs/outputs you want up to a total of 64 channels.
Umm, do you have a source for this? I was under the assumption that the Dante IO was in addition to the others.
__________________
Windows 11, Intel i9-12900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX960 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2021.10

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, OSX Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.6

HDX2, HD I/O 16x16 and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2021, 03:28 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 210
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Dante PciE card

I assumed the quoted Dante limitation is bogus, on the info blurb

"Route audio extensively
With 64 channels of Dante, plus the 512 x 512 matrix in DADman, you can route any MTRX Studio input to any output, expanding your workflow possibilities. Create easy cue mixes over Dante. Route between connectivity formats. Even send audio to multiple devices simultaneously."
__________________
Windows 11, Intel i9-12900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX960 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2021.10

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, OSX Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.6

HDX2, HD I/O 16x16 and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2021, 04:55 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 2,027
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Dante PciE card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skwaidu View Post
Umm, do you have a source for this? I was under the assumption that the Dante IO was in addition to the others.
I have a MTRX Studio and a Focusrite Dante PCIe card so the source is me! For a start it has two Digilink ports supporting 32 channels each as Darryl says. Also the most number of channels you will get out of the Focusrite into the MTRX Studio is 64 and if you do that you obviously use up all 64 Digilink channels so none left for the analog and ADAT I/O.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-07-2021, 01:01 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,014
Default Re: MTRX Studio with Dante PciE card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
I have a MTRX Studio and a Focusrite Dante PCIe card so the source is me! For a start it has two Digilink ports supporting 32 channels each as Darryl says. Also the most number of channels you will get out of the Focusrite into the MTRX Studio is 64 and if you do that you obviously use up all 64 Digilink channels so none left for the analog and ADAT I/O.

Technically, you are probably talking more about the limitation of Pro Tools I/O rather than MTRX Studio I/O. The former is dealt with by the hardware I/O tab, and deals with whatever comes and goes from Pro Tools. The latter is dealt with by the routing matrix in DADman, and deals with whatever comes and goes from the physical I/O of the MTRX Studio.

You might only be able to get 64 channels of digilink out of Pro Tools and into the MTRX Studio, but you can still also attach an entirely separate Logic/nuendo/atmos renderer/whatever using Dante. You can attach talkback mics to the mic pres. Attach Aviom cue systems to the adat outputs, and so on, and route all of that I/O around within the MTRX Studio. They aren't shared I/O in that sense, they are freely assignable.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX2. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Mastering Suite 3.7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX-> HDX or MTRX->Dante ArmyofLight Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 34 04-08-2021 05:51 PM
MTRX Studio Mac Pro Not in Synch on Dante Network Goombot Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 10-15-2020 02:30 AM
MTRX Studio and DANTE virtual sound card alvarodeiscar Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 12 10-12-2020 02:57 PM
How to tune SPQ card in MTRX Studio nedd Post - Surround - Video 13 07-31-2020 10:55 AM
Can't get MTRX Dante card to work... SomeOtherGuy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 25 01-22-2020 11:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com