Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2001, 07:00 AM
Dead River Studio Dead River Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Boston, USA
Posts: 330
Default stereo or mon aux channels?

I recorded a guitar track with two mics on the amp. I sent each mic to a seperate mono channel, effectively creating a stereo mix. To sub these, do I bus them to a stereo bus and then assign to a stereo Aux channel? Or can I use a mono bus nad mono Aux channel. I tried both they both work. But what is the proper way to do this? All I can tell is that you can see the level of each tack in a stereo aux independently. But it sure seems easier to use mon aux xhannels when you have to mix 3 of these stereo guitar tracks.
What do you think?
Thanks!
__________________
My studio... http://www.deadriverstudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2001, 07:53 AM
Jaleo Jaleo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: SoCal
Posts: 186
Default Re: stereo or mon aux channels?

I am not sure I understand what you want to accomplish in what you call the "sub mix." When I record a stereo source I create a stereo channel and use stereo aux ins for effects, and use stereo plugins on the stereo audio tracks. Stereo tracks are not available in PTLE 5.01, but are available in version 5.1. Using stereo tracks will probably clarify your bussing confusion. Then agaian, there are probably lots of creative things you can do using mono audio channels as well. So, tell us a bit more specifically what you want to do and we will be happy to give you some suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2001, 09:58 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Allison Park, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 5,099
Default Re: stereo or mon aux channels?

I think it depends on whether you want to "spread" the 2-3 tracks in a stereo field.

If you just want to mix the tracks together (close and room mic, for instance), then a mono aux should be fine. If you want to pan the room mic to the left and the close mic to the right, you'll have to use a stereo aux and pan each input track accordingly.

There IS no "right" way.
__________________
Larry

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.7.1 Bug? Phantom Powering Stereo Channels Chris Johnson VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 08-15-2009 12:43 AM
Processing stereo channels individually - is it possible? spinsah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-31-2007 03:25 PM
Maintaining stereo image w AUX channels? euphjazz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-09-2005 07:56 AM
The file is not stereo two channels..... tarzo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-29-2004 04:04 AM
No 'trim' on stereo channels, where's pow-r? Joris de Man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-12-2001 06:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com