Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2022, 08:25 AM
mrgroovy mrgroovy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 318
Default Drum Programs and Effects

Is anyone aware of a drum program that will allow the user to utilize UAD or RTAS plug-ins in the drum program mixer in order to bypass or avoid using the drum program’s effects? Reverbs compressions delays EQ’s etc
__________________
2020 Mac Mini I7 3.2GHz, 36 GB Ram, Catalina, ProTools 2018.12.0 UAudio X6, Axiom Pro S49 MkII, Maschine MKIII.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2022, 10:49 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,419
Default Re: Drum Programs and Effects

Not that I know of, but what exactly are you trying to do? There are lots of great independent plugin hosting programs aka “VST hosts” that will run VST or AU plugins. Stick that together with a drum software, or more typically you would just run the VI in that host along with other plugins. If they run VST or AU plugins then hopefully it would work with VST or AU UAD plugins.

Or just run this all in a DAW.

Avid has never licensed its plugin technology for third party hosts software AFAIK and I doubt any of them would want to do so vs VST or UA. (I suspect many of the stand alone systems drum software might use VST plugins along with VST versions of the actual VI even if not intended for users to add others). And RTAS is dead and buried technology, not the least because it’s 32-bit only.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-14-2022 at 11:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2022, 03:34 PM
Robruce Robruce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 110
Default Re: Drum Programs and Effects

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgroovy View Post
Is anyone aware of a drum program that will allow the user to utilize UAD or RTAS plug-ins in the drum program mixer in order to bypass or avoid using the drum program’s effects? Reverbs compressions delays EQ’s etc
Unaware of any that do that. Others are better informed. Not sure what you're trying to do precisely, #3 below might a way to utilize UA plugs on your drums in real time.

SuperiorDrummer2 ( and likely others ) most typically handles audio output in these several ways.

1. Bounce (offline) a prerecorded MIDI-to-audio performance through SD2's mixer (Output 1-2 )which incorporates the plugs you've used within the SD2 mixer, or none at all.

2. Bounce a prerecorded MIDI-to-audio performance out automatically (offline) with each drum split out as it's own file.

3. Play, hear and record drum parts 'live' in real time.
SD2 can again use it's Buss and Output matrix to split the drum kit out into PT for real time monitoring during performance where you can hear your UA plugs inline.

IF you can get the H/W buffer low enough within PT, the #3 method might be tight enough to record drum parts tapped out in real time from a drum pad or keyboard into the drum program, and that audio into PT, then into your ears. Hard to know without trying it on your system. It's tight here on an M1 Mini.

If you're running a UA front end, some units have (four?) virtual channels in Console - an excellent path to monitor while recording a live VI performance.
Feels even tighter than Apollo's analog audio input latencies.
I tap and write parts while monitoring through a virtual channel, then bounce offline, split out per drum.

The Toontrack sample library is vast btw, The sounds are 'finished', never require repair, and take EQ well.
SD2 includes some effective plugs, including a very fast transient tool excellent for bringing out "snap". hth

Last edited by Robruce; 05-14-2022 at 11:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2022, 09:24 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,161
Default Re: Drum Programs and Effects

Things to consider:
1-RTAS is pretty much dead, so don't expect that to work at all.
2-As the others have said, I am also not aware of any drum VI that can host other plugins(but its a cool idea).
3-most all of the drum VI's are capable of splitting out each drum sound to its own track(which is what you should do). You can send each sound to AUDIO tracks and print, or you can send each sound to AUX tracks. Either way allows you to treat the drums with your favorite plugins. I usually print to AUDIO tracks and then mix the same as I would for a real kit, with a few twists as follows:
A-I adjust the bleed for less snare in the overhead tracks
B-I skip the ambience and room mics and use my own effects
Doing this allows me to create drum mixes that sound great(to me) and I avoid having my drums sound like the thousands of other users of the same drum VI
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2022, 02:41 PM
mrgroovy mrgroovy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 318
Default Re: Drum Programs and Effects

Thx to all, Yes the point was to process Superior or Addictive drums using their mixers and avoid “Multi Outing” each drum to a separate track in PT and then processing those tracks with my “strong plugins”. I understand it would not take that much longer but SD and AD drums already have mixer with processors. Be nice to just use them. I am paying those processors already.
__________________
2020 Mac Mini I7 3.2GHz, 36 GB Ram, Catalina, ProTools 2018.12.0 UAudio X6, Axiom Pro S49 MkII, Maschine MKIII.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2022, 02:42 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,577
Default Re: Drum Programs and Effects

If it were me I'd probably route the multi-output to audio tracks and print them, to keep things simple. You could save ready made tracks for this to quickly import.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16gb RAM. MacOS 11.6.3 Big Sur. Pro Tools 2020.12.1.191.
Olasonic DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, Control on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2022, 08:52 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,001
Default Re: Drum Programs and Effects

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgroovy View Post
Thx to all, Yes the point was to process Superior or Addictive drums using their mixers and avoid “Multi Outing” each drum to a separate track in PT and then processing those tracks with my “strong plugins”. I understand it would not take that much longer but SD and AD drums already have mixer with processors. Be nice to just use them. I am paying those processors already.
The processors in SD3 aren't all that great. If you have other plugins that you like - use them. SD3 can't host external plugins. Go multi-out and process like you would a real drumkit - been doing it that way when I ran BFD3 as it makes sense.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2022, 09:01 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: Drum Programs and Effects

Evil Drums powered by Accent -- Accent can host VST, VST3 and AU plugins.

http://www.platinumsamples.com/accent/evildrums.php

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2022, 05:32 AM
janil15 janil15 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 1
Default Re: Drum Programs and Effects

I have issues running Evil Drums by Accent on new M1 Mac. Has anyone had success running this plugin with M1 Macs (64 bit). If no are there any plans to make it work? I've tried with Ableton Live 11 and Steinberg Cubase 12 Pro.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logic 9 on Mbox 2 screwed up guitar effects on all programs ian_mc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-09-2009 09:39 PM
Cubase vs Pro Tools HD/ Drum Sequencing programs bontay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-30-2009 10:58 PM
RTAS Drum Programs ... Opinions? Cavet Your Eruptor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-21-2006 12:46 PM
Drum programs jtplayer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-17-2002 03:55 PM
drum/drum loop programs with PT matthewinphilly Tips & Tricks 3 12-19-1999 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com