Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2006, 05:39 PM
defconnect5 defconnect5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default DAE Error -9131.... Yes, the dreaded -9131.

I am another in the long line of people who have had problems with the DAE error -9131. I tried all of the options suggested thus far, including re-formatting to journaled and non-jounaled Mac OS Extended versions, partitioning my 160GB drive into two equal drives and trashing all Digidesign Preferences and databases. I have the identical Lacie 160GB hard drive which I have been using for well over a year and have had no such problem. I get the new drive, which is Firewire instead of USB, like the old one, and I haven't yet had PT's let me play any files. I have not attempted recording.

I have the following...
Mac Powerbook G4, 1GHz processor, 1.25 GB RAM
The hard drive that works is a Lacie 7200rpm, 160GB USB disk partitioned into two unequal drives.
The new hard drive is a Lacie Firewire 400, 160GB, 7200rpm
Pro Tools LE Version 7

Please tell me what I'm doing wrong. I can't seem to find a remedy to this.
Thank you!

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:32 PM
diabeteman diabeteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: France
Posts: 6
Default Re: DAE Error -9131.... Yes, the dreaded -9131.

Arrgl...

Same as above I've just bought an MBOX 2 with pro tools 7 LE,
updated it with PT7.1.1 LE for intel based macs and I keep getting a "DAE error -9131"
when I try to record. I tried to record on the internal HD and on my Lacie 250 Go (FW)
but I get the same error. I also tried to delete all PT prefs and repairing disk permissons
but with no success.

The same error occurs when I try to play any track with audio regions on it
(works when tracks are empty).

Also when I create a new instrument track, it's level indicator is cranked up to 0dB and therefore
cranks up the master output to 0dB but I don't get any output sound (which should be pretty loud if it worked).

strangely, when I arm a track for record I CAN hear the signal from the input through pro tools
(not only in direct monitoring) I even added plugins which work too.

Does it have anything to do with the 7.1.1 latest version ?

People at Digidesign please give us info before I try formating my HD.
(this is a fastidious operation and I'm not shure that it would help as said above)
I know that I'm new to pro tools but I'm pretty shure that I double checked everything.

thanks,


Robin

PS : no problems when using the MBOX-2 in logic pro 7.2 with the coreaudio driver (on the same computer)
PPS : I also tried to install the PT 7.1.1cs1 update but still no change...
__________________
MacBook intel 2Ghz - 1 Go RAM - 60 Go TOSHIBA internal drive 5400 RPM - MBOX 2 - PT 7.1.1 LE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2006, 05:18 PM
defconnect5 defconnect5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: DAE Error -9131.... Yes, the dreaded -9131.

HEY! Guess what? I figured it out! I have a 160GB Lacie Porsche drive and all I did to fix it was to NOT partition, but erase the entire disk and create a single drive. I used the Disk Utility to do a 7 Times Over erasing and, though it took about 10 hours to do, it fixed the problem. I formatted the drive OSX Extended (Journaled) and everything came out roses. That's all I have to offer. Perhaps that will work for you. Good luck.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2006, 06:29 AM
diabeteman diabeteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: France
Posts: 6
Default Re: DAE Error -9131.... Yes, the dreaded -9131.

ok cool

but I'd like to make it work on my internal HD too because it's not alway convenient
to have my lacie with me (especially when recording on the battery...)

do you think I might have to reformat my internal HD with the 7 times erase thing ?

can I make an image of my HD to reinject it with the disk utility by booting with macosx install disk ?
(so I don't loose all my config and software installed)

I'm going to try some moves in the meantime...

thanks,
Robin
__________________
MacBook intel 2Ghz - 1 Go RAM - 60 Go TOSHIBA internal drive 5400 RPM - MBOX 2 - PT 7.1.1 LE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2006, 06:37 AM
Bugly Bugly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default Re: DAE Error -9131.... Yes, the dreaded -9131.

a few things you may already have tried/know......
first of all, PT 7.1.1cs1 works like a charm for me. There are a few little bugs, but nothing that gets in the way of my day to day work.
Did you know that the Mbox needs to be connected to the left had USB port?
Did you trash prefs.?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:00 AM
diabeteman diabeteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: France
Posts: 6
Default Re: DAE Error -9131.... Yes, the dreaded -9131.

yes I tried both USB ports but it doesn't work at all
also tried to trash prefs

I'm starting to think I might have to reformat (with the zero thing) and it pisses me off

do you think it's not an intel based problem or a 7.1.1cs1 issue ? (I also tried with the 7.1.1 by the way)

I'm tying to get in touch with the guys at digidesign but it's all busy....

I'll keep you posted

robin
__________________
MacBook intel 2Ghz - 1 Go RAM - 60 Go TOSHIBA internal drive 5400 RPM - MBOX 2 - PT 7.1.1 LE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:39 AM
Bugly Bugly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default Re: DAE Error -9131.... Yes, the dreaded -9131.

There are a lot of people working with the same config as you.
I don't think it is anything to do with intel.

have you done this....

Repair Permissions
-Quit Pro Tools and launch Apple's "Disk Utility" application, located in:

MacHD>Applications>Utilities.

-Select your boot drive (the whole drive, not the volume underneath the drive)
-Go to the 'First Aid' tab and select "Repair Disk Permissions"

Apple recommends doing this any time you install new software, update your OS or reinstall any software.

Databases and Volumes
-Delete the Digidesign Databases folders on the first level of all mounted hard drives, then delete the "Volumes" folder in MacHD > Library > Application Support > Digidesign > Databases.

-Empty trash, then restart the computer.

I would try a PT uninstall reinstall before nukeing my drive
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:41 AM
Bugly Bugly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default Re: DAE Error -9131.... Yes, the dreaded -9131.

how have you got your playback engin settings setup?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:56 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,810
Default Re: DAE Error -9131.... Yes, the dreaded -9131.

Diabeteman - if the trashing preference and database files doesn't work, you should try an uninstall/reinstall of Pro Tools. Run the uninstaller for both 7.1.1 and 7.0, then restart and reinstall 7.1.1 and the cs1 update (do not reinstall 7.0).
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2006, 09:32 AM
diabeteman diabeteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: France
Posts: 6
Default Re: DAE Error -9131.... Yes, the dreaded -9131.

uninstalled pro tools with the uninstaller
deleted every piece of file named digidesign on macHD and emptied trash
restarted and repaired disk permissions
installed PT LE 7.1.1 from the dmg I downloaded on digidesign.com
restarted
updated PT LE 7.1.1cs1 from the dmg
restarted
repaired disk permissions
...
still not working : "DAE error -9131" when recording or playing


please help me !!!

robin
__________________
MacBook intel 2Ghz - 1 Go RAM - 60 Go TOSHIBA internal drive 5400 RPM - MBOX 2 - PT 7.1.1 LE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The dreaded DAE 9131 message mholley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-01-2008 01:58 PM
Dreaded DAE Erro -9131 a2zproductions Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-03-2007 02:45 AM
Dreaded 9131 BigBobMXMan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-14-2006 10:50 AM
DAE error -9131 jaywynne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-06-2005 02:21 PM
The dreaded DAE Error 9131 David Lang 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-04-2003 02:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com