Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2006, 08:53 AM
Willangus Willangus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 42
Default 002 flashes, \"another application\"

Hey there,

Anybody ever run into this before? A quick search of the forum says no...

During a fairly processor-intensive mix with my 002:
- the scribble strips flash on and off 3 or 4 times
- Pro Tools (LE 7.1 w/Music Production Toolkit) throws up an error saying "Another application is trying to access" the 002, and that I need to quit the application or Pro Tools (nothing else was running, just Pro Tools)
- after trying unsuccessfully to let Pro Tools reclaim the 002 (power cycling, unplugging/replugging Firewire), I click quit, upon which I get either error -1115 or -1 (! never heard of that one), and then
- Pro Tools quits and says it's saving the session as Auto-Exit #1, but the file doesn't actually show up anywhere.

I saw on the forum that -1115 can sometimes be a result of out-of-date plugins, and my Waves plugs are pretty old (3.6), but I just started running into this yesterday - twice - and haven't installed any new plugins or upgrades in about three weeks (during which I've been mixing a lot).

System config is below. Thanks for any help!
-Will

System
Host Name : PROTOOLS
User : Pro Tools

Processor
Model : AMD Athlon(TM) XP 3000+
Speed : 2.17GHz
Model Number : 3000 (estimated)
Performance Rating : PR3141 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Internal Data Cache : 64kB Synchronous, Write-Back, 2-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 512kB ECC Synchronous, Write-Back, 16-way set, 64 byte line size

Mainboard
Bus(es) : AGP PCI IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
MP Support : No
MP APIC : Yes
System BIOS : Award Software, Inc. ASUS A7V8X-X ACPI BIOS Revision 1013
System : System Manufacturer System Name
Mainboard : ASUSTeK Computer INC. A7V8X-X
Total Memory : 1GB DDR-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : ASUSTeK Computer Inc VT8377 Apollo KT400/A/600 CPU to PCI Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 167MHz (334MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 1GB DDR-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 167MHz (334MHz data rate)

Video System
Desktop Monitors/Panels : 2
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Adapter : Matrox Millennium G550 - English

Physical Storage Devices
Removable Drive : Floppy disk drive
Hard Disk : MAXTOR 6L080L4 (75GB)
Hard Disk : ST3300631A (279GB)
CD-ROM/DVD : PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-104 (CD 16X Rd, 8X Wr) (DVD 2X Rd, 1X Wr)
CD-ROM/DVD : PLEXTOR CD-R PX-W1210A (CD 32X Rd, 12X Wr)

Logical Storage Devices
PAGE (C:) : 29GB (5.4GB, 19% Free Space) (NTFS)
BONHAM (D:) : 250GB (35GB, 14% Free Space) (NTFS)
CLAPTON (E:) : 29GB (4.8GB, 16% Free Space) (NTFS)
HENDRIX (F:) : 45GB (3.1GB, 7% Free Space) (NTFS)
CD-ROM/DVD (H:) : N/A
3.5" 1.44MB (A:) : N/A

Peripherals
Serial/Parallel Port(s) : 2 COM / 1 LPT
USB Controller/Hub : VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : Generic USB Hub
USB Controller/Hub : Generic USB Hub
USB Controller/Hub : Generic USB Hub
USB Controller/Hub : Generic USB Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Printing Support
USB Controller/Hub : USB Composite Device
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
Keyboard : Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Keyboard : HID Keyboard Device
Mouse : Microsoft USB Trackball Optical (IntelliPoint)
Mouse : Microsoft USB IntelliMouse Optical (IntelliPoint)
Mouse : HID-compliant mouse
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : HID-compliant device
Human Interface : Microsoft USB Trackball Optical
Human Interface : Microsoft USB IntelliMouse Optical
Human Interface : American Power Conversion USB UPS
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device

MultiMedia Device(s)
Device : Standard Game Port

Printers and Faxes
Model : EPSON Stylus Photo R200 Series
Model : Acrobat PDFWriter
Model : Acrobat Distiller

Power Management
AC Line Status : On-Line

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

Network Services
Adapter : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2006, 09:10 AM
GothicV GothicV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 654
Default Re: 002 flashes, \"another application\"

Do you have your windows sounds running through your 002? That would be my first check.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2006, 03:19 PM
JohnnyG JohnnyG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 208
Default Re: 002 flashes, \"another application\"

Check Digi's PT 7 plugin compato page for Waves with version 7.0 - I have a strong feeling that if you pull those v3.6 waves plugins out of your Pro Tools plugins folder, that your issues would go away. (or all the plugins if you have other stuff not compato with PT7)

Contact waves for their PT7 compato plugins. Stability is going to be an issue for you until you verify your using the correct versions written specically for 7. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2006, 05:02 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: 002 flashes, \"another application\"

Also turn off quicktime. Many times quicktime holds on to the drivers and will cause this problem.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2006, 07:25 PM
Willangus Willangus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 42
Default Re: 002 flashes, \"another application\"

Thanks for the ideas, guys. I uninstalled a bunch of Voxengo demos I was checking out (via VSTWrapper) as well as cleaning out some other demo plugins that I had to click through every time anyway, and so far the error hasn't popped up again. Fingers crossed...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WAVES C1 display flashes on-off jasbart 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-26-2013 11:27 PM
SYNC HD flashes 10.00.00 jasonthurley Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-10-2012 08:06 AM
Flashes during editing ebonyles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-04-2009 04:21 PM
Digi 003 Power Up Flashes Andy has G.A.S. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-31-2008 06:44 PM
mojo pictures flashes ben.o Post - Surround - Video 0 10-20-2005 09:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com