Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2005, 05:53 AM
lamesa lamesa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default high pass filter on AUX

Hi All,

Is it possible to insert a high pass filter or a parametric EQ on Aux?

Thanks,

Didi
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:34 AM
mattpete's Avatar
mattpete mattpete is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 201
Default Re: high pass filter on AUX

Yes, every channel and every bus can has 4 plug-in inserts and 1 hardware insert. All the busses can be routed post-fader directly to plug-ins, too.

-Matt
__________________
Matt Peterson
Avid Audio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2006, 01:07 AM
Timo Sabe Timo Sabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: high pass filter on AUX

Hi all,

can we use the built in EQ section of Venue for every buss output?

can i use the built in high pass filter for an aux output?

thanks.
~timo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:37 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: high pass filter on AUX

Hi Timo,

There are up to 24 built in Graphic EQs available which can be used on any bus output. For Parametric EQ and/or HPF you can use any one of a number of plug-ins such as Digidesign's EQ III , Serato's Rane Series , Sony Oxford, Focusrite...and many others.

D-Show's built-in 4-band EQ and HPF are on input channels only.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2006, 10:56 PM
Timo Sabe Timo Sabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: high pass filter on AUX

Hi Sheldon,

thanks for your reply.

yes, i am aware of those plugins and the built in graphic eqs.

i am just wondering why the parametric eq section and the high pass capability are not expended to include the output busses.

for monitoring, i like to highpass the aux rather then pulling several faders tht corellate with the graphic Eq. this is normal rite? i am a regular user of yamaha dm2000 and now also getting into Venue, so i am in "comparison" mode.

regards,
~timo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2006, 11:01 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: high pass filter on AUX

Hi Timo,

In general, not every output requires sophisticated processing on board, as this processing is often done downstream by some form of system processor (Lake, XTA, etc.). We opted to put the DSP horsepower where it's needed most - on the input side - and offer "no compromise" 48-bit EQ and Dynamics on every channel.

The on board GEQs can be inserted on any output and give a familiar interface for making tonal adjustments. Add to this the unprecedented sonic choices offered by our plug-in architecture and most output processing needs are easily met.

BTW, for your monitor application I recommend the Serato GEQ, as it has separate High and Low Cut filters in addition to the 31 filter bands.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q with High Pass filter in Para EQ gtrgriff3 Eleven Rack 2 10-23-2012 01:10 PM
High pass and low pass filter for distorted guitars? adamqlw Eleven Rack 13 09-30-2011 10:35 AM
Low/High Pass Filter Automation Help Funkle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-08-2010 09:23 AM
High Pass Filter on Lead Vocals? rockwithrespect 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 03-31-2005 12:56 AM
20hz High Pass Filter on mix. Opinions? Shelob9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-05-2004 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com