Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2004, 07:13 AM
tokyofan tokyofan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 134
Default encoding question

I'm doing some news narration from home and need to encode into RealPlayer format. I'm first bouncing into a QT movie format and then exporting into RealPlayer (.rm) format. But I've been asked to encode in 32kbps. Not sure how to implement this. Is that setting made before I record? When I bounce? Or is there an option in QT Pro I can set? Still a newbie at this. Any help would be appreciated.
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2004, 02:26 PM
RadioMoo RadioMoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 628
Default Re: encoding question

Hi again,

Bounce to Disk as usual, and save the bounce to wherever you want.

In QuickTime, "Open Movie in New Player," and select your bounced file.

On the QT player, "Select All" then "Export."

Choose 'Movie to RealMedia' then click "Options" on the dialogue box. For "Video Track" select 'none.'

Optimize for steaming, and check the '56 K dial-up' box (this says 34kbps, but will actually encode at about 32.1kbps), then click 'OK.'
__________________
Mbox 1 w/BLA mod, PTLE 6.1, eMac 700MHz, OS X (10.2.8), 1024 MB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2004, 04:41 PM
DJ Insomaniac DJ Insomaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: encoding question

i have QT pro 6.5 and i'm not seeing the "Movie to RealMedia" export. i didn't find anything on it at the Apple site.

what gives?
__________________
Sam Ejnes
Mix Technician, Freelance Sound Editor/Re-recording Mixer
samejnes.com | IMDb | Analog Jitter

rMacBook Pro 2.2 gHz Core i7, 10.10.3
16 GB RAM
MOTU 828mkII, PT 12.1 HD
Axiom 61, 2xArtist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2004, 07:11 PM
RadioMoo RadioMoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 628
Default Re: encoding question

Either update to 6.5.1, or Go Here and download the plugin.
__________________
Mbox 1 w/BLA mod, PTLE 6.1, eMac 700MHz, OS X (10.2.8), 1024 MB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 and MP3 Encoding question spinsah Pro Tools 9 4 12-11-2010 12:37 PM
encoding question bruce lang Post - Surround - Video 4 11-08-2010 03:07 AM
AC3 encoding? KingTor Post - Surround - Video 4 10-01-2009 04:54 PM
5.1 DVD Encoding tandem Post - Surround - Video 1 03-10-2005 03:25 PM
Dolby LCRS encoding question for Sundance georgia Tips & Tricks 1 09-01-2000 10:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com