Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-29-2008, 08:04 AM
The Miff The Miff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomzzzzz View Post

However, when I'm going to work with a 003 rack, I cannot do this anymore, because my Macbook Pro has only 1 FireWire port... let me know what you think!
Why not daisychain from the 003?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-29-2008, 09:20 AM
Thomzzzzz Thomzzzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Miff View Post
Why not daisychain from the 003?

Never thought of that... I only have 1 FireWire device at the moment... to be honest, I didn't even know it was possible... That would maybe then be the solution? Mac -> 003 -> FW HDD, all through FireWire and no more USB [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]...? Or am I being too happy too soon?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-01-2008, 03:17 AM
Thomzzzzz Thomzzzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Can you give me an idea of how many audio tracks you have and which plug-ins you're using, exactly?

It's likely a FW interface will help, but I want to get an idea of how hard you're pushing this first...
Do you already have any thoughts on this matter? I posted the information on the session a few days before. Please let me know what you think of it?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-02-2008, 03:51 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,810
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomzzzzz View Post
Do you already have any thoughts on this matter? I posted the information on the session a few days before. Please let me know what you think of it?

Thank you
It's difficult to say for sure how much improvement you would get, but my casual testing and the fact that you're getting USB based communication errors would seem to indicate you'd do better with a Firewire interface.

I don't know if you have access to one, but testing one of your current sessions with a firewire interface would tell you a lot. You could just bring your laptop into the store, connect it to a firewire interface and fire it up.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-02-2008, 04:24 PM
emorganproductions emorganproductions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 137
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

If you are going to daisy chain you should run it Mac->FW400->003, that way if you drop connection from the 003, your hard drive will stay connected. If you run it the other way around, when the 003 loses connection it will essentially unplug the hard drive with it, which can kill a HD or corrupt data.
You could also get a express34 card with some FW400 plugs on it.

Hope that helps
__________________
Evan

Click me...


MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz intel i7, 16GB / OSX 10.10.5 / PT 11.3.2 / UA Apollo
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-02-2008, 11:45 PM
Thomzzzzz Thomzzzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
It's difficult to say for sure how much improvement you would get, but my casual testing and the fact that you're getting USB based communication errors would seem to indicate you'd do better with a Firewire interface.

I don't know if you have access to one, but testing one of your current sessions with a firewire interface would tell you a lot. You could just bring your laptop into the store, connect it to a firewire interface and fire it up.
Thanks a lot for the information. No need to install anything else? As long as any of the digidesign products is connected to the computer, protools will start up?

In that case, I'll let you know when I go to the store and try it there!

Thanks everybody for all your input!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-03-2008, 08:15 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,810
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomzzzzz View Post
Thanks a lot for the information. No need to install anything else? As long as any of the digidesign products is connected to the computer, protools will start up?
You shouldn't need to do anything other than connect the interface. Pro Tools LE supports all LE interfaces with the version you're running...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-04-2008, 05:39 AM
Thomzzzzz Thomzzzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

I've just researched other options on the digidesign website and found the M-Box 2 Pro also uses FireWire... a little cheaper, just as powerful for my needs, which are recording vocals and (electric/acoustic) guitars and saxophones... thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing USB on Eleven Rack with Firewire? mix_master_adam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-27-2010 04:47 PM
Firewire Midi Solution dopewerewolf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-05-2007 01:54 PM
Firewire Solution G5 Dual 2.0 Markk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 08-02-2004 12:08 PM
Replacing firewire with scsi, need some help! guys General Discussion 10 07-25-2001 12:27 AM
Replacing firewire with scsi, need some help! guys Storage Subsystems 4 07-24-2001 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com