Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2008, 01:19 AM
Thomzzzzz Thomzzzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Hi,

I'm currently working on a project that requires a lot of plugins and softsynths... Since I use a lot of tracks with a lot of plugins, I keep running into a -9136 error (CPU usage is holding off USB audio), while all settings are set to max, so I can't use any more.

I've been thinking of replacing my M-Box (first one, light blue) with a FireWire-based product (003 rack). Would that improve anything?

Specs:
MacbookPro 2.16 Ghz CoreDuo, 2 GB Ram
OSX 10.4.11
ProTools LE 7.4

I hope someone has some experience with this... or at least can tell me whether this is nonsense or not.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2008, 09:25 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,810
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Can you give me an idea of how many audio tracks you have and which plug-ins you're using, exactly?

It's likely a FW interface will help, but I want to get an idea of how hard you're pushing this first...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2008, 09:56 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

I don't think it will make a difference. The error messages will probably be replaced by something else but I think they'll still be there. That's my experience at least, but I haven't done any proper testing to back it up with. Still, some details like Digitechsupt asked for could perhaps give us an indication.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2008, 10:31 AM
bilco bilco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 309
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

I have the Mbox 1 and a Digi 002 Rack. I definitely get higher track counts and can use more plugins with the 002, but i does still throw the same errors eventually. I think my problem now is I am running on a 1.2 Ghz 12" ibook with only 768 Meg of RAM. The upgrading never ends.

For rock solid stability, I don't think Firewire can compete with the PCI card units I used to have, a Digi 001 and an Audiomedia III. Those things were bullet proof stable with very low latency.

You will get more tracks and plugin counts from the Digi 003 than the USB Mbox though; I have.

bilco
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-28-2008, 10:38 AM
Thomzzzzz Thomzzzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Well here it is... example for one of the songs...

18 mono audio tracks
2 stereo audio tracks
1 aux with Long Delay II

on ALL 18 mono tracks' inserts there's from top to bottom:
Compressor/Limiter Dyn 3
1 Band EQ 3
DeEsser Dyn 3
7 Band EQ 3

(so that's 18 x 4 = 72 + 1 delay = 73 plugins)

The CPU/RTAS meter (System Usage window) comes half way when not playing back. On playback, it varies between half and 3/4, and CPU (Elastic) comes out to max. 10%, even though I haven't used elastic audio...

Most of the things I'm currently working on however request Reason via ReWire, which is not always a pleasure as well... but hey, that's how they made their beats, so i just have to deal with it.

The reason I'm asking is because I don't really know what happens inside my M-Box... does it calculate anything at all? Therefore, would a faster connection like FireWire be of any service what so ever? Apart from the fact that a 003 is a much nicer and versatile device.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2008, 10:42 AM
Thomzzzzz Thomzzzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilco View Post
I have the Mbox 1 and a Digi 002 Rack. I definitely get higher track counts and can use more plugins with the 002, but i does still throw the same errors eventually. I think my problem now is I am running on a 1.2 Ghz 12" ibook with only 768 Meg of RAM. The upgrading never ends.

For rock solid stability, I don't think Firewire can compete with the PCI card units I used to have, a Digi 001 and an Audiomedia III. Those things were bullet proof stable with very low latency.

You will get more tracks and plugin counts from the Digi 003 than the USB Mbox though; I have.

bilco
Thanks for your response. However, I'm on a MacBook Pro, so i don't think it's possible to build in a PCI card. Like I said in the opening post, I use a 2.16 GHz coreduo with 2 GB ram... my computer cannot be upgraded further, so unfortunately, that is not an option. It should be pretty sufficient, in my eyes...

Thanks for sharing your experiences!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2008, 01:51 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Thomzz, are your sessions on an external firewire drive?
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2008, 06:00 AM
Thomzzzzz Thomzzzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dougfather View Post
Thomzz, are your sessions on an external firewire drive?
In this case, they aren't. I recorded them on location, outside my studio and haven't copied them, because mixing doesn't always happen in my studio as well... these current sessions are on the local drive. Normally I do have my own sessions on an ext. drive, but then it still happens.

However, when I'm going to work with a 003 rack, I cannot do this anymore, because my Macbook Pro has only 1 FireWire port... let me know what you think!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-29-2008, 06:17 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomzzzzz View Post
However, when I'm going to work with a 003 rack, I cannot do this anymore, because my Macbook Pro has only 1 FireWire port... let me know what you think!
You can daisy chain them.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-29-2008, 08:01 AM
The Miff The Miff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: Replacing M-Box 1 for FireWire solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilco View Post

For rock solid stability, I don't think Firewire can compete with the PCI card units I used to have, a Digi 001 and an Audiomedia III. Those things were bullet proof stable with very low latency.

You will get more tracks and plugin counts from the Digi 003 than the USB Mbox though; I have.

bilco
I never trusted USB for demanding work; video and audio. I used to have te 001 in my Mac B&W. Yes, that was rock solid. When I purchased the 003, FireWire was my first concern. How can a little wire be as reliable as a PCI card?

Well, I bought the 003 and have no regrets...yet. Someday, when I get my Mac Pro, I'll invest in a HD system. But for now, FireWire will suffice.

Will the 004 use FireWire 800?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing USB on Eleven Rack with Firewire? mix_master_adam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-27-2010 04:47 PM
Firewire Midi Solution dopewerewolf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-05-2007 01:54 PM
Firewire Solution G5 Dual 2.0 Markk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 08-02-2004 12:08 PM
Replacing firewire with scsi, need some help! guys General Discussion 10 07-25-2001 12:27 AM
Replacing firewire with scsi, need some help! guys Storage Subsystems 4 07-24-2001 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com