Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2021, 02:15 PM
jtlaurie jtlaurie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3
Default Need Help!

Hi. I installed Pro Tools SE on my windows 10 computer along with the M-Audio Interface as well that is hooked up to my computer via USB. After installing I am getting a message saying the program won't work because hardware is not installed... but I have my interface hooked up to the computer and it's registering as one of my audio devices (and the light is on)... Any help or guidance is appreciated. Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2021, 03:35 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,131
Default Re: Need Help!

Pro Tools SE is many years old and probably is not compatible with Windows 10. I'm also not sure if SE works with M-Audio interfaces
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2021, 03:45 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,060
Default Re: Need Help!

For W10 you need PT12.5 or later. Compatibility info here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2021, 08:35 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,131
Default Re: Need Help!

Thanks Janne. If you are on a really tight budget(meaning you can't afford to upgrade to PT12.5), there are some other options:
Reaper-free to try and cheap to buy
Cakewalk by Bandcamp-formerly known as SONAR(and its free)
Studio One and Cubase both offer "limited" versions at a low price

All of these options are very capable programs(and should work with the M-Audio interface), but unfortunately, may not be able to resurrect old sessions. You could also try Pro Tools First. Its free but I am not sure it will open older sessions. Its very limited and I don't recommend it as a long-term solution; only as a possible way to open old sessions so you can export the audio(for import into another DAW).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com