Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-13-2022, 06:50 PM

Default Pro Tools crashing at exponential rate

I've been using Pro Tools for a few years now. Yes, occasionally it crashes. Usually when I overload something. It's been my experience that I experience a crash about once every 8 to 10 hours of use, no biggy.

But last week it started crashing about every 10 minutes. Okay, save often, and roll with it. But it's been getting worse and worse. Earlier today I worked on a 1-hour radio show with only 7 tracks and it was crashing every 5 minutes or less. So I checked for an update and found that 2022.7 was available. It didn't help at all.

This evening I went to edit a mashup I had been working on a few weeks ago (no crashing issues with the file back then) and I can't even play half the file without a crash. At this point the program is unusable.

Has anyone else out there had a similar experience? And if so, is there a cure?

I'm using a Windows 10 machine
64 bit ProTools
64 GB RAM
11th Gen Initel i7 processor @ 3.6 GHz
Old 09-13-2022, 06:56 PM

Default Re: Pro Tools crashing at exponential rate

I should also mention that only Pro Tools Studio is crashing. All of my other software seems to be working just fine these days. The old version that I upgraded was 2021.7.
Old 09-13-2022, 07:23 PM

Yes I've experienced crashes. I replaced my computer this year due to exponentially onsetting crashes. My computer was a Mac.

So, yes, people have crashes.... That's what we know for sure.

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050
||software: Sonoma 14.2 | PT Studio 2023.12 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //