Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2009, 01:39 PM
NS3474 NS3474 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 28
Default MIDI pitch shifts unexpectedly in PT8?

Hi guys and gals,

I'm running PTLE8 with an Mbox. I am using XPand2 for a bass part, and my MIDI keeps going from being in tune to about a 1/4 step SHARP. No pitch bending, transposing, or anything else going on. This is happening seemingly without cause (i.e. I play 6 or 8 bars with the correct tuning, and then it instantly switches to the sharp tuning, never at one particular spot). Anyone have any idea what's going on? I tried closing the session, closing PT, and restarting the computer. Each time the MIDI returns to pitch . . . for a little while.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2009, 07:36 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: MIDI pitch shifts unexpectedly in PT8?

Is this reproducible on a newly created session?


filosofem
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2009, 08:04 PM
NS3474 NS3474 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 28
Default Re: MIDI pitch shifts unexpectedly in PT8?

It's happened on a few different sessions. On one session, the drums (BFD Lite) shifted in pitch, with the hi-hats literally getting higher in pitch.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2009, 08:05 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: MIDI pitch shifts unexpectedly in PT8?

Is this 8.01? I have seen this with Hybrid on OSX last week. It drove me nuts. The only way to avoid it was to remove Hybrid and insert a new version. It drove me batty! I thought it was just because it was a mac!
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2009, 08:31 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: MIDI pitch shifts unexpectedly in PT8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris75 View Post
I thought it was just because it was a mac!
Kris, I think the original poster is posting in the wrong forum.

Ummm... to the original poster, just what Kris75 has eluded too, what version of Hybrid and what exact OS version are you running?


filosofem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2009, 01:46 PM
NS3474 NS3474 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 28
Default Re: MIDI pitch shifts unexpectedly in PT8?

Sorry for the delay. I'm not running Hybrid, I'm running XPand2 in PT8.0.0 with Windows XP SP3.

I just now re-opened the session that was giving me problems. Tuning was fine. I was playing around (not recording), trying to figure out the right chord for a particular part of the song, and MID-NOTE the pitch suddenly shifted. UGH.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2009, 01:58 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: MIDI pitch shifts unexpectedly in PT8?

Is there any reason why you can not update to 8.0.1.? PTCC that includes Xpand!2 has been updated also. Might help.


filosofem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
timeline shifts and playlists pt8 brianjanthony Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-22-2010 02:06 PM
Recorded audio shifts forward Mad Genius Audio Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 06-16-2010 07:18 PM
Normalizing EA tracks shifts out of time brianjanthony Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-12-2009 06:21 AM
Problem that region shifts!! K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-28-2005 09:13 PM
Weird color shifts using G3,G790 and 8.6 New Lanark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-16-1999 09:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com