Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2016, 11:54 AM
Jude01 Jude01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Montgomery County, PA
Posts: 2
Default PC hardware requirements

Hi:
I am very new to recording. I am considering buying the Fast Track Duo that comes with Pro Tools Express. I have a Dell XPS with a i5 processor and 4 meg of RAM. Is this adequate?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2016, 12:29 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,701
Default Re: PC hardware requirements

Any i5 is going to be barely adequate, and 4GB of RAM is barely enough for the OS. Add to this, Dell use many different chipsets(the main part of the motherboard) and not all are compatible with Pro Tools. Then there is my honest opinion of NOT being a fan of M-audio hardware. You might consider diving in with a different DAW, such as Reaper as it is cheaper and has lighter computer requirements, and maybe look at the smaller Focusrite interfaces
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2016, 12:40 PM
Jude01 Jude01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Montgomery County, PA
Posts: 2
Default Re: PC hardware requirements

Thanks for the quick response and potential work around. You confirmed what I suspected. If I wanted to go the Pro Tools Express then upgrade route what would I need from a hardware and or computer stand point?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2016, 03:05 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,701
Default Re: PC hardware requirements

There are a few big threads already that lay out PC builds, so spend a little time perusing the DUC and all your questions will be answered The very least includes:
i7 quad core
16GB of RAM(more is better)
2 hard drives(1 for system and one for sessions)
compatible chipset(this is the crucial detail)
compatible graphics card(integrated graphics can be a bad thing)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2016, 12:41 AM
LochNESS LochNESS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 55
Default Re: PC hardware requirements

For those of us who have read the threads but don't understand the lingo, what is chipset? I thought my PC only had one chip (the CPU) or rather, one that mattered ... all those other chips on the motherboard aren't swappable ... sorry I'm sure this is a simpleton question but I'm here to ask questions ...

TIA
__________________
PT 2018.7, Sibelius 8.6, Melodyne 4, Cubase LE AI 9, Audacity

Gigabyte H97M-D3H, Intel i5-4590 @ 3.3GHz, Intel H97 chipset, 24GB Crucial Ballistix 1600 DDR3, Win 10, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD, WD Black 1TB HDD (x2), TP-Link N900 PCIe, EVGA 500w PSU

Dell Studio XPS 8100, Intel i7-870 @ 2.93GHz, Intel 5 Series/3400 Series chipset PCIe, ATI Radeon, Win 7 (64-bit) Home Premium, Realtek HD, THX TruStudio, Chicony 350w PSU
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2016, 06:46 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 859
Default Re: PC hardware requirements

Here Lochness;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8gfA3H5XTAE

That will explain everything you need to know about chipsets.
The things is, you really don't need to know most of it, but need to know if your software/hardware is compatible with a particular "chipset".
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2016, 11:23 AM
LochNESS LochNESS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 55
Default Re: PC hardware requirements

Thank you very much!
__________________
PT 2018.7, Sibelius 8.6, Melodyne 4, Cubase LE AI 9, Audacity

Gigabyte H97M-D3H, Intel i5-4590 @ 3.3GHz, Intel H97 chipset, 24GB Crucial Ballistix 1600 DDR3, Win 10, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD, WD Black 1TB HDD (x2), TP-Link N900 PCIe, EVGA 500w PSU

Dell Studio XPS 8100, Intel i7-870 @ 2.93GHz, Intel 5 Series/3400 Series chipset PCIe, ATI Radeon, Win 7 (64-bit) Home Premium, Realtek HD, THX TruStudio, Chicony 350w PSU
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2016, 07:07 PM
LochNESS LochNESS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 55
Default Re: PC hardware requirements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bookerv12 View Post
Here Lochness;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8gfA3H5XTAE

That will explain everything you need to know about chipsets.
The things is, you really don't need to know most of it, but need to know if your software/hardware is compatible with a particular "chipset".
Watched the video. Seems my mobo's chipset is easily found in the name of my mobo ... H97.

Lots of users around these boards commenting that Z97 and X99 (or whatever) are the only way to go. But, according to this spec comparison, my H97 chipset is very similar in features to the Z97:

http://www.eteknix.com/intel-9-serie...ons-finalized/
__________________
PT 2018.7, Sibelius 8.6, Melodyne 4, Cubase LE AI 9, Audacity

Gigabyte H97M-D3H, Intel i5-4590 @ 3.3GHz, Intel H97 chipset, 24GB Crucial Ballistix 1600 DDR3, Win 10, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD, WD Black 1TB HDD (x2), TP-Link N900 PCIe, EVGA 500w PSU

Dell Studio XPS 8100, Intel i7-870 @ 2.93GHz, Intel 5 Series/3400 Series chipset PCIe, ATI Radeon, Win 7 (64-bit) Home Premium, Realtek HD, THX TruStudio, Chicony 350w PSU
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need PT 7 (7.4) hardware requirements scottyj711 General Discussion 1 05-07-2015 02:29 PM
ProTools 11 hardware requirements raducanmihai Pro Tools 11 6 08-28-2013 12:07 PM
hardware requirements confusion - help! Park Seward 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 09-19-2001 07:33 AM
5.1 Hardware Requirements & what systems to buy nodell General Discussion 11 11-09-2000 06:48 PM
Digi 001 Hardware Requirements garyinfante 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-13-1999 12:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com