Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2011, 10:15 PM
theblotted theblotted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21
Default Clear Peak/Meter shortcut not working?

the shortcut is Option + C.

i recall back in PT7, i can do this shortcut key command, and it will clear the meter (pk) every time. now sometimes it wants to do it, sometimes it won't.

what gives?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2011, 12:18 PM
theblotted theblotted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Clear Peak/Meter shortcut not working?

bump
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2011, 12:34 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Clear Peak/Meter shortcut not working?

Option+C works fine to clear my peaked meters... are you sure OSX isn't using that command for some function?
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2011, 03:37 PM
theblotted theblotted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Clear Peak/Meter shortcut not working?

yeah pretty sure.

mind you, that i'm not talking about when something is peaked (red). i'm talking about just clearing the meter in general (in the "pk" field on the Tracks), e.g., if meter shows -15.2 after playback, hitting Option+C should make it go back down to -∞.

looks like it's only working everytime when the track is peaked (red).

OddsAre, did you test this for both PT7 and PT9? i'm using PT8 at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2011, 11:40 AM
theblotted theblotted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Clear Peak/Meter shortcut not working?

nobody else encounter this?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2011, 12:21 PM
1m1 1m1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 736
Default Re: Clear Peak/Meter shortcut not working?

It's works the same way on my rig. It only clears the red "overs". I option click on the meters to reset them.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2011, 06:01 AM
Oleef Oleef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6
Default Re: Clear Peak/Meter shortcut not working?

I noticed that when I have red "overs", hitting Option+C will clear the overs, AND it resets the pk´s on tracks to -∞.
(Well, almost. One track in my current session sometimes goes down to -136 or something, the rest goes to -∞)

When nothing has peakt, nothing happens. No pk is reset. For that I use, as others have said, Option+MouseClick on the pk field.

But the red overs in the plugins don´t go away with Option+C. Is there a keycommand for that?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2011, 05:14 PM
theblotted theblotted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: Clear Peak/Meter shortcut not working?

Oleef, it's plug-in dependent. if i'm not mistaken, you can clear overs with at least Digi and Waves plugins, but not on others.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-23-2011, 02:46 AM
Oleef Oleef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6
Default Re: Clear Peak/Meter shortcut not working?

It is mostly Digirack and Waves plugins I use. But I can´t get their peak overs to reset, all at once.

Option+C only clears all track overs, if there are any. Not plugin overs.
Alt+clicking the peak inside the plugin does not reset other plugins peaks. Not even on to Digirack EQIIIs.

Is there another way to handle this? I have tried to search the DUC, but can´t find a key command or other shortcut for this.

I´m using PT9.

(And by the way, I see that theblottet said what I indicated, before me. Sorry for the repeated info)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clear selected clips shortcut not working hd 10.3.2 dgoodi22 macOS 7 02-08-2013 04:49 PM
Signal peak/distortion/db meter peak when recording enabling track on Pro Tools LE 8 hotgravy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-30-2012 10:49 AM
which peak meter? evs Post - Surround - Video 8 09-04-2008 09:48 AM
Keyboard shortcut to clear red clip lights? kirkbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-02-2008 10:36 PM
LED METER PEAK HOLD Gaffer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-19-2002 10:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com