Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-12-2009, 07:24 PM

Question Mbox 2 and Korg Triton Studio MIDI Question

Hey everyone,

I am very computer savy, but I am just getting into the recording scene and I have a MIDI question. I have not worked with MIDI that much in the past. I am hoping someone can help me because my problem is very frustrating and I feel like it should have a simple solution...

I have an Mbox 2 with PTLE 8 running on Windows XP. I also have a Korg Triton Studio synth, which I have had for years and I love. I am trying to connect the Triton to my Mbox using regular 5-pin MIDI cables, so I can record MIDI tracks as well as use some of the nice virtual instruments in PT8. I believe I have followed all the necessary directions to get this set up, but I must be missing something, and I don't know if it's a setting in PT or on the Korg or something else...

I have created a new instrument in the MIDI Studio Setup area. Then, I created a new MIDI track and set the input and output to be that instrument. I can click notes into the MIDI editor, and I hear them when I do that. When I play the track, the notes I entered play fine. However, I cannot seem to get the MIDI input to work at all! When I play my keyboard, I hear no sound and when I can't even get any levels in the mix window...

I have a feeling this has to do with the way I have PT set up, but again, I am really new to MIDI and don't know what settings I need. Does this have to do with MIDI channels or something? What MIDI channels should be set for input and which ones for output? Does it even matter? Again, I am pretty clueless about MIDI, so any help would be really appreciated!