Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2021, 06:57 PM
Deeni Gilden Deeni Gilden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2
Default Korg arranger on pro tools Question

Question...
When I try to record my Korg pa1xpro arranger on an instrument track in Pro tools, the track just records an empty track, although I can hear the instrument through my headphones, and although the instrument records on less sophisticated software, like Voice Recorder Windows 10.
PLEASE HELP!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2021, 05:38 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,551
Default Re: Korg arranger on pro tools Question

You have a lot to learn.


First off - where are you plugging the headphones into - the keyboard or your computer? To record the audio from your keyboard you need to connect the audio outputs from the keyboard to an audio interface connected to your computer.


Then on the instrument track you need to select the audio input that your keyboard is connected to. Record arm the track and you should hear the audio coming from your keyboard. Of course make sure you have he input levels set right on the interface so you have ample signal but not overloading the input.


I suggest getting a good beginner's book on recording. There should be a couple of good books along that route that deal specifically with working in PT. Of course reading the PT manual is always a good thing.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2021, 07:05 AM
Deeni Gilden Deeni Gilden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2
Default Re: Korg arranger on pro tools Question

Hi thanks for answering, I really appreciate it!
my ssl2+ interface is plugged into my laptop, and my keyboard is connected to the interface thru the inputs.
My headphones are plugged into the interface, and set at the output on the instrument track.
On the instrument track, I did select "Input 1 and 2" which is which inputs my balanced cables are plugged into. (on my keyboard, the balanced cables are plugged into outputs L and R.
I have a signal, I can hear my keyboard and mic (that's connected to my keyboard) in my headphones, but when recording, its just an empty track.
I know I have a lot to learn, (I'm 16:) I will definitely try to educate myself as much as possible. Thank you for your time! Be well!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2021, 07:59 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,775
Default Re: Korg arranger on pro tools Question

First lesson: You are trying to record audio - you need a stereo audio track. Set its inputs and outputs and you can record.
Instrument tracks are typically used for virtual instrument plugins - and they record MIDI, not audio. They're like a midi track and a aux track combined.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, SSL UC1, iPad Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yamaha Tyros4 61-Key Arranger Workstation Keyboard Matheus01 Buy & Sell 0 06-22-2017 10:59 AM
Yamaha Arranger/Workstation to PT11? dnuttall macOS 0 12-16-2014 04:01 PM
Sync pro tools to arranger Joel Klein Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 01-06-2013 09:21 PM
drummer/songwriter/arranger ggmmss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-04-2006 11:08 AM
Roland E-96 keyboard arranger gingerbreadmusic General Discussion 2 08-17-2005 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com