Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2021, 07:22 AM
hannahjazzz hannahjazzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: LONDON
Posts: 24
Default Can I use a vox preamp as an interface

I have an Avalon mic preamp that I want to
Use for the 96k A/D converters to transfer my stereo mixes from studer 1/4 inch tape to digital to master.

I have other interfaces, but no
Other 96k I don’t think.

Am I able to use the Avalon as an interface or will this create problems? Or alternatively, if I use my digi 003, will the 48 A/D not suffice for tape transfer for mastering through software?


Thanks

H


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2021, 07:26 AM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,401
Default Re: Can I use a vox preamp as an interface

Avalon doesn’t make audio interfaces, so no, you can not.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2021, 07:38 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,136
Default Re: Can I use a vox preamp as an interface

I'm not exactly clear on what you need, so here is some general info re the 003. The SPDIF IO can operate at up to 96K. This might allow you to run the Avalon thru high-end converters at 96K to feed the 003 SPDIF input. You can also connect the Avalon analog output to one of the TRS line inputs of the 003. This allows you to record thru the Avalon into a 96K session(or lower sample rates). The 003 converters are adequate and you will still get the flavor of the Avalon. Personally, I see no reason to record at 96K and have had many commercial releases at 48K with happy clients


BTW, probably best to refer to it as a vocal preamp as most of us think of guitar amplifiers when someone mentions Vox
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave

Last edited by albee1952; 09-22-2021 at 03:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting preamp to compressors to interface ToneSetter General Discussion 12 03-08-2020 06:11 PM
8 channel audio interface and stand alone preamp alidav macOS 18 03-15-2014 08:32 AM
Which interface/preamp would you recommend? Judicious Pro Tools 9 11 06-02-2011 10:48 PM
Using outboard Preamp/Bypassing Mbox2 Preamp KennyC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-10-2007 12:00 PM
I'm torn.. Digi001 with better preamp or Digi002 with cheaper preamp/future upgrade Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-05-2003 11:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com