Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2021, 04:02 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,575
Default Connecting a TC Clarity metering to Carbon

Hey Friends

Is there anyone here who has a TC Clarity M metering screen and knows how to connect that to one of our new Carbon boxes?

This is copy/paste from TC we site regarding what connections the TC Clarity M has:

Source inputs come in a vast array of options including: USB for hassle-free VST*, Audio Units* and AAX* plug-in metering; 6 channels of unbalanced AES3 digital audio on 75 Ohm BNC connectors for broadcast-grade 5.1 metering; and stereo optical for maximum fl exibility. CLARITY M is fully compliant with all major broadcast standards including ITU BS.1770-4, ATSC A/85, EBU R128, TR-B32 and OP-59, and is recommended for all studio environments END COPY/PASTE

On the Apollo X Series we have in the SSL Room we run a SP/DIF cable from an Apollo X8P to the Clarity but Carbon doesn’t have that so I wonder how to connect that TC to a Carbon.

As usual Thank you for any help or tips and hope you are all healthy and having a way better year 2021
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2021, 06:17 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,420
Default Connecting a TC Clarity metering to Carbon

It has an Optical input on it. If Carbon’s ADAT outputs can be configured to work as 2 channel outputs, then simply connect a Toslink cable between the two and you’re done. Essentially as you’re running it with your Apollo.

You’ll have to check whether Carbon allows the ADAT ports to be configured as SPDIF to pass a stereo signal. My interface allows that and that’s how I have my Mytek converters connected.

Alternatively, use the plugin and USB input to connect it to your computer.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2021, 06:40 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 204
Default Re: Connecting a TC Clarity metering to Carbon

I've had no success in using Carbon's ADAT as s/pdif input or output, and it also doesn't seem to work as ADAT out into an RME ADI-2 Pro (which should be able to use just two channels from the ADAT as a stereo signal). I get no digital lock.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2021, 07:29 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,420
Default Re: Connecting a TC Clarity metering to Carbon

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
I've had no success in using Carbon's ADAT as s/pdif input or output, and it also doesn't seem to work as ADAT out into an RME ADI-2 Pro (which should be able to use just two channels from the ADAT as a stereo signal). I get no digital lock.

Well, that answers that. Seems they can only be used as ADAT and not 2 channel SPDIF. That’s a shame.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2021, 07:44 AM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 268
Default Re: Connecting a TC Clarity metering to Carbon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Well, that answers that. Seems they can only be used as ADAT and not 2 channel SPDIF. That’s a shame.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Avid has said using the ADAT as 2 Channel SPDIF is not supported but will be in the future.
Sorry Chris.
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteZ490 Vision D
Xeon Core I9 10850K cpu Windows10 v.20H2
Avid HDX 2021.7 Ultimate - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2021, 07:55 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,420
Default Re: Connecting a TC Clarity metering to Carbon

Quote:
Originally Posted by abc1mce2 View Post
Avid has said using the ADAT as 2 Channel SPDIF is not supported but will be in the future.
That could be a loooooong wait. =P


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metering Delay / Metering is Late Spanzor Pro Tools 2021 18 04-21-2021 05:46 AM
Connecting Carbon + S1 + internet alhardy Pro Tools | Carbon 14 02-16-2021 07:50 PM
TC Clarity M priorytools Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 1 09-08-2016 01:10 PM
Is anyone using Clarity X? antonis Post - Surround - Video 0 03-08-2016 06:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com