Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-28-2022, 02:42 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 395
Default Re: Extending IO

Quote:
Originally Posted by StudioTalk View Post
The carbon will apply available DSP to ADAT inputs as well as analog inputs.

How many inputs do you need to track through DSP at one time? Considering the Carbon's DSP was designed to be used for Tracking purposes and not mixing, are you asking too much from DSP?
Yes, only using the DSP to track.

Personally, I have enough DSP for the number of input tracks I use, but I can see someone using a channel strip (something like the bx_console N) on all 16 inputs running out of DSP at 96kHz. At 44.1/48 there's plenty. I'm just really saying that an input extender with DSP would be a useful thing - effectively just allowing 2 Carbons to work together, handing over monitor mix audio.

Dominic
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-01-2022, 09:49 AM
StudioTalk StudioTalk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: haines city
Posts: 58
Default Re: Extending IO

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
Yes, only using the DSP to track.

Personally, I have enough DSP for the number of input tracks I use, but I can see someone using a channel strip (something like the bx_console N) on all 16 inputs running out of DSP at 96kHz. At 44.1/48 there's plenty. I'm just really saying that an input extender with DSP would be a useful thing - effectively just allowing 2 Carbons to work together, handing over monitor mix audio.

Dominic
Based on that, others suggestion of going HDX are probably your only option. I don't see Avid expanding the DSP of the Carbon as long as they offer HDX.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-01-2022, 11:55 AM
eightamrock eightamrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United Stats
Posts: 49
Default Re: Extending IO

Quote:
Originally Posted by StudioTalk View Post
Based on that, others suggestion of going HDX are probably your only option. I don't see Avid expanding the DSP of the Carbon as long as they offer HDX.
I agree, I think if you really need more DSP and IO, the HDX/Matrx studio is your next step. Expansion would be nice, but I cant imagine they could come in at a cost that made it worth it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extending the timeline Tbob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-28-2005 08:19 AM
Extending USB cables on G4 SteveGarman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-10-2003 07:25 PM
extending usb & video-how far have you gone? OzzyOsmond 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-24-2003 10:51 PM
OT: extending Firewire Brad Ryan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-23-2003 02:48 AM
Extending cables 1206 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 08-14-2000 06:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com