Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-25-2022, 04:31 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: Sharing Pro Tools audio over Zoom on Windows

Think of Loopback as virtual cabling. For example, I can use a Pre-Fader Send to route audio from Pro Tools to, say, Hardware Output 6 on my interface. I then Loop that signal back to Hardware Input 6 on my interface and in Control Panel>Sound>Recording Tab set Hardware Input 6 as the default.

I have an RME UFX and TotalMix, RME's software mixer, has a Loopback button on every Output. Clicking it Loops the signal back to the corresponding Input. Doesn't matter if there is a real connection on that Input - as long as it isn't being used at that time.

I think that Focusrite only has Loopback on one pair, so you're going to be limited, but worth a try.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-26-2022, 01:41 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,877
Default Re: Sharing Pro Tools audio over Zoom on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Can you explain how to set this up with loopback (or perhaps link to a help page or tutorial)? I have a Focusrite LS56 with loopback, but I'm a loopback newbie Thanks!
I have some videos about it on YouTube using a few different audio interfaces.

But if your Focusrite uses Focusrite Control, the one you should start with is the Scarlett 18i8 video. Just go to the Loopback chapter if you are not interested in the rest.

Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 Gen3 - EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO KNOW
https://youtu.be/tT5wLm5-TMk

All interfaces that have loopback will be setup in a similar way within OBS, at least on Windows. For Mac you will still need Blackhole, Soundflower, Loopback (the app), or the new GroundControl Room or GroundControl Caster from Ginger audio, iShowU, or some other app that can capture sound on Mac.

Some other interfaces I have reviewed with Loopback are the Evo 4, Evo 8, Audient iD14, and Presonus 1824c. Again, just go to the Loopback chapter, most of these videos are loooong and cover everything in one video.

Audient iD14 MKII Audio Interface - EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO KNOW
https://youtu.be/fo_VNNhWvTo

EVO 4 LOOPBACK - DAW AUDIO INTO OBS or STREAMLABS (Screen capture & Stream)
https://youtu.be/nhq0tXpMaJA

addendum to previous video
NEW - EVO ON-SCREEN CONTROL APP for the Audient EVO 4
https://youtu.be/vMavp4MVVBY

EVO 8 LOOPBACK - Stream/Record Your DAW
https://youtu.be/PBFwOqb6Bew

PreSonus Universal Control Loopback - Record DAW ASIO Audio into OBS/Streamlabs
https://youtu.be/B0wLEzyJf-U

From my experience, Focusrite and Audient make the most stable Loopback drivers. Although, I have not used an RME interface which are also supposed to have great drivers.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:05 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,370
Default Re: Sharing Pro Tools audio over Zoom on Windows

Thnx!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-26-2022, 05:18 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: Sharing Pro Tools audio over Zoom on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
From my experience, Focusrite and Audient make the most stable Loopback drivers. Although, I have not used an RME interface which are also supposed to have great drivers.
RME has some of if not the best drivers in the industry and support their products long after they are legacy. The drivers are also multi-client. As to Loopback, it's simply a click on a button in RME's TotalMix to initiate Loopback on Hardware Outputs back to the corresponding Hardware Inputs.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-31-2022, 08:54 AM
sourceelements's Avatar
sourceelements sourceelements is offline
Source Elements
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Default Re: Sharing Pro Tools audio over Zoom on Windows

You can share your Pro Tools audio into Zoom using Source-Nexus!

Simply put the Source-Nexus plugin on an aux track or your master fader, then set the Zoom mic to your Source-Nexus send audio device ("Source-Nexus A" by default) and you're sending a live, low latency feed directly from Pro Tools into Zoom. Works with virtually any other application, and multiple applications simultaneously as well.

Check out our latest Pro Tools and Zoom Source-Nexus tutorial on YouTube. The video shows the set up on Mac but it is largely the same on Windows.

Source-Bites: Pro Tools and Zoom made easy with Source-Nexus
__________________
Source Elements LLC · Be apart, create together.

support@source-elements.com · www.source-elements.com

Source Elements Academy - Check our educational hub for remote collaboration professionals
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Zoom meeting and screen sharing PT audio jpriggy Pro Tools 2018 32 10-12-2021 10:22 PM
Pro Tools Audio over Zoom seanmccoy Windows 6 05-28-2020 07:18 PM
Zoom H4 as USB Audio I/O Interface for Pro Tools? dogsbody 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-21-2009 10:42 PM
Sharing an external drive between mac and windows danisrael 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-17-2006 09:53 AM
Sharing HDD with Windows & Mac Ndless Nite 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-26-2006 07:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com