Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2006, 10:23 AM
Question Mark Question Mark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Default Access Violation

Wherenever i try to load my Pro Tools now i receive this message, "Could not Complete your request because of access violation occured", What does that mean and how can i solve it...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2006, 10:33 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Access Violation

Follow the directions in the General Troubleshooting thread about trashing prefs and databases:
Quote:
Trash DAE and Pro Tools preference files
Start Menu > My Computer > Local Disk(C:) or correct hard drive (click "show the contents of this drive" if the files aren't displayed) > Program Files > Common Files > Digidesign > DAE > Right-click on the DAE Prefs folder and delete.
Start Menu > My Computer > Local Disk(C:) > Documents and Settings > "Your user folder" > Application Data > Right-click on the Digidesign folder and delete. (If the Application Data folder is not showing: Tools Menu > Folder Options > View Tab > Select "Show Hidden Files and Folders" > Click Apply and OK.)

- Delete the Digidesign Databases folders for all hard drives
Start Menu > My Computer > Local Disk (C:) > Digidesign Databases > Right-click on the Digidesign Databases folder and delete. Repeat for all hard drives.
(Note: These folders are temporary folders created, used, and sometimes deleted by the program. Never store any session data or other important data within them.)
Start menu > My Computer > Local Disk (C:) > Program Files > Digidesign > Pro Tools > Databases > Right-click on the Volumes folder and delete.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2006, 12:16 PM
oscillations oscillations is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default Re: Access Violation

It's worth mentioning that I've had the same problem. A few times, I've had a message telling me that PT cannot save/autosave because of an access violation. Every time this has happened to me so far, it's been after modifying a MIDI velocities across a few regions. When I discovered this, undoing the velocity changes got rid of the message, and I had to do it a bit differenty. A bit of a problem for me, as I make my living as a MIDI programmer now, but I've been able to work around it. Just thought it's worth pointing out.

This is why I don't only save often but use the "Save As..." command whenever I make a big change. If something goes weird in "Song_10.pts" I can "roll back" to "Song_09.pts" and try and find the source.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:45 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Access Violation

I never have that problems with MIDI velocities. I do a ton of MIDI work as well.
Trashing your preferences (as mentioned on the troubleshooting page) might clear up that access violation error.

You can also turn on auto save; it would save you a lot of time, effort and clutter.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2006, 12:21 AM
oscillations oscillations is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default Re: Access Violation

After the first couple times I learned to trace it. I should mention that it has happened when I highlight multiple notes/regions and modify them with the MOUSE, not with the Midi event operations option. But it doesn't always happen.

Autosave is necessary for me as some of what I do is development, and once in a rare while PT and my development tools don't like each other. It hasn't ruined anything, though when I first got the message that PT couldn't save, I was kinda freaked! It's definitely something worth DIGI investigating, IMO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
access violation djra 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-14-2007 12:39 PM
access violation in 7.3 paulreed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-08-2006 05:46 PM
Access Violation Tip Teolin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-20-2005 01:18 PM
Access Violation brianpatrick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-08-2003 12:17 AM
access violation/access is denied dj_czech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-02-2001 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com