Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2009, 01:01 PM
halcyonwayband@aol.com halcyonwayband@aol.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 15
Default Inconsistent tempo when setting up a click track in PT?

Ok, I was just working on setting up a new song, and I'm having an issue where my click track in Pro Tools is not steady. I was setting up a tempo map for a tune, and I had a PT click track going, as well as a beat in Reason 4 via Rewire. The tempo is not steady. I have the tempo slaved to PT for the whole thing - but the clicks are not smooth, the timing is not constant. It speeds up & slows down on it's own. I don't mean a tempo change due to me changing it with a marker, I mean that within each section at a certain tempo, it fluctuates. It's as if on random clicks/beats it hangs for a microsecond. Does anyone have any ideas here?

I have an MBP Intel 2.2ghz with 4gb RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:53 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Inconsistent tempo when setting up a click track in PT?

I ALWAYS record a physical click track as the first thing I do in a session. Pick the tempo, create a click track aux, place the click on the aux, bus to a mono audio track and record about 16 measures of click. Trim it perfect and copy and paste as many as you need. Once it is recorded in as audio it will NEVER fluctuate. Don't rely on the DAW and assume it will keep the click perfect. You have many things that need to access system resources and any number of them can make your click track stutter unless it is recorded in as audio.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2009, 06:23 AM
halcyonwayband@aol.com halcyonwayband@aol.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 15
Default Re: Inconsistent tempo when setting up a click track in PT?

I hear ya there - makes sense. But what I can't get is that the song I was just working on I only had 3 tracks:

PT Click
Reason groove, only using Redrum
An instrument track with no notes in it
No plugins, nothing....

I would think that my machine could hang with that, right? Also when I exported the song as MP3, I thought that might fix the issue, but it didn't.

*sigh*
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:29 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Inconsistent tempo when setting up a click track in PT?

Then try to start with just a click track. If it is OK, then add elements one at a time. Then at least you know where the culprit is..

If a solitary click track is still not working correctly on your system, then something more basic must be wrong.
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2009, 12:21 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,555
Default Re: Inconsistent tempo when setting up a click track in PT?

Out of curiosity, are you using any Mouse Works software?
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Click Track only at one Tempo in MP9 NAOTTO Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-11-2012 06:06 AM
Inconsistent Click Track xx1messxx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-23-2011 10:33 AM
Newbie question... setting the click track tempo jdport2 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 02-19-2010 06:32 PM
Click track/tempo changes toddbux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-22-2007 10:58 AM
Tempo map and click track Gary H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-29-2004 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com